Skip to content

Bridges 2

July 21, 2007

A few days ago, I posted some illustrations based on Arthur Rimbaud’s prose poem The Bridges. I had been thinking of entering Kerstin Klein’s illustration contest, but hadn’t read the rules, so I did them in color instead of black and white.

They didn’t convert well, to black and white so I did a few more, using the same ideas more or less, as stated in my first post :

“What is Literary blog?”- the arts being bridges to one another, literary blogs leading, like everything else on the internet, to each other as well as to other blogs and sites, the fragmentary way we read, appreciate things and get information from blogs, and so on….

I don’t know if these work any better, but it’s been fun to stretch myself in new ways.

First off, so you’ll know where I’m coming from, here’s an English translation of Rimbaud’s prose poem, which was graciously sent over by Kerstin :
The Bridges

Skies the gray of crystal. A strange design of bridges, some straight, some arched, others descending at oblique angles to the first; and these figures recurring in other lighted circuits of the canal, but all so long and light that the banks, laden with domes, sink and shrink. A few of these bridges are still covered with hovels, others support polls, signals, frail parapets. Minor chords cross each other and disappear; ropes rise from the shore. One can make out a red coat, possibly other costumes and musical instruments. Are these popular tunes, snatches of seigniorial concerts, remnants of public hymns? The water is gray and blue, wide as an arm of the sea. A white ray falling from high in the sky destroys this comedy.

(If you want to read it in the original French, go here

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2007 3:50 pm

    Casey these are really very good indeed. Great concept and execution. I think in a way (certainly in terms of illustration) they work better in b &w & greyscale.

    Read your comment just now – it’s not actually my idea to illlustrate poems – it’s this weeks illustration friday theme, though it is something I’ve attempted before and I like the idea – also someone else has already said they too like the idea. What do you mean by a sub-list – from EDM? Alternatives could be a group- or even a team blog or does that sound too big? – I say team blog because I’m one one and it seems to work well – it gives central point for people to metaphorically have a chat about the work… lots of ideas to think about!

  2. July 21, 2007 6:23 pm

    oh so nice to have the english translation. I had gotten the ‘essence’ of it when I read it in French but appriciate the prose much better en anglaise.
    I do like these as much as I did the colored versions! Ce bien!

  3. July 21, 2007 7:47 pm

    Casey,
    These are wonderful! I’m so glad that you decided to do them again in B and W. I now need to scroll down to look at the color version because I don’t remember the faces which are so apparent and add so much here.
    Shirley

  4. caseytoussaint permalink*
    July 21, 2007 10:31 pm

    Actually, these are different than the colored ones – I tried just converting those images but they lost too much, so I did another batch directly in black and white. The faces are mostly a new element.

  5. July 22, 2007 12:58 pm

    These are stunning, Casey, I love them. Congratulations.

  6. July 22, 2007 8:38 pm

    Great sketches…I do like the black and white versions!
    Ronell

  7. July 22, 2007 9:23 pm

    hi casey, these are awesome, love the texture and monochromatic range you were able to do here, wow!

  8. July 23, 2007 9:28 am

    I love the calligraphic (?) marks creating the bridge structures, and the almost abstract composition of fragments of images. I also prefer the black and white illustrations – perhaps because they allow my eye to concentrate on reading and exploring the forms without being distracted by colour.

    Happy Birthday by the way! Thanks for the champagne and pastries – also beautiful paintings!

Leave a comment

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    Eric J May on Violette Leduc
    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other subscribers
  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs