Skip to content

Figures in Walnut Stain

April 28, 2007

I’ve been fooling around with Virtual Pose, trying to work out a way to  draw figures quickly enough with walnut stain to be able to use it in life class, where we have lots of very quick poses. The teacher tells me it’s possible… I’ve tried painting the stain on first, and then you need to let it dry before you can work into it with pencil. I also need to work into it with water, lightening certain areas, and sometimes white gouache. I also tried drawing first, which gives more precise, if somewhat less poetic, drawings, but actually seems to take me even longer. If anyone is used to working with wash in a figure class, I’d be interested to hear from you. Maybe I’m just very very slow.

Anyway, here are some of the ones I like the best. These are too big to scan, so I photographed them – some are a little blurry.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2007 6:35 pm

    The woman standing backwards is absolutely fantastic. It is so artistic, Casey. I would buy it! You are a wonderful artist.

  2. April 28, 2007 8:33 pm

    Amazing what you are achieving this this medium! Can’t wait to hear the response of other people at the life class when you turn up with a can of walnut stain!

  3. April 28, 2007 10:59 pm

    Oh, I agree with nik – I love that one, too! Very nice – I’m not sure what the stain is, though – is it like wood stain, or am I being obtuse?

  4. April 29, 2007 4:40 am

    I think they are all pretty awesome Casey! The walnut ink is intriguing and I’ve liked what I’ve seen so far. The still life with bottles is dramatic also.

  5. April 29, 2007 8:10 am

    Thank you – this medium is a lot of fun, but I feel it controls me and not the other way around. I guess that’s part of the fun. Diahn, it’s a stain made from walnuts (the shells I guess) that you use to darken wood. It’s water-based and handles a lot like ink I guess, but it’s a whole lot cheaper.

  6. April 29, 2007 10:13 am

    I love these, walnut stain seems like a great medium. How do you lay the walnut ink down? With a paintbrush, or a rag, or? It seems so free and loose in style, I love them. I´m with Nik and Diahn, the woman with the back towards the viewer is awesome!

  7. April 29, 2007 5:11 pm

    Nice work! So it’s actually a stain and not an ink? How interesting! Very inspiring to see some good work come out of virtual pose as well – i’m putting this on my xmas list!

  8. April 29, 2007 7:01 pm

    Casey, I think they look wonderful the way they are now. There is sure not much room for improvement at least not when working on short time poses.

  9. April 29, 2007 7:33 pm

    thanks for your nice comment about the iguana. that really encourages me to do more. 🙂
    i saw these wonderful paintings today morning already. i wonder why i forgot to post a comment. i love the brown shades… gives a warm touch to the paintings and i like that for humans.

  10. April 29, 2007 8:58 pm

    very interesting Casey!!!

  11. April 30, 2007 6:41 am

    Very nice sketches Casey. I think “speed” will come when you keep on working with it..it is just new, so there is still a lot of “thinking” in the process.
    Ronell

  12. Damien permalink
    May 2, 2007 2:17 pm

    I like the second guy from the bottom, but the first looks like his legs are too small.

  13. caseytoussaint permalink*
    May 4, 2007 5:55 am

    Mmm, I see what you mean Damien., his foot especially.

  14. May 4, 2007 4:04 pm

    These are very good, Casey, particularly the seated woman. Beautiful!

Leave a comment

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    Eric J May on Violette Leduc
    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other subscribers
  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs