Skip to content

A value Portrait

May 4, 2007

This started out as an exercise in using just one value and white, but then I started having fun and added a lighter wash. It’s from a photo of Guy de Maupassant (remember reading “The Necklace” in school?) I used some walnut stain, because there was some ready to use. I had no desire to do any sort of drawing or painting, but once I got started I really had fun. The splotchy look is just the way walnut stain applies. I know it’s messy, but I sort of like it.
I’ve been in a bit of a slump the last few days – I guess the only way out is to keep working.

For a better look go to rue Manuel.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2007 7:44 am

    The did a great moustache in those days, didn’t they! This is very successful, I think. The effects you’re getting with that stain are really interesting.

  2. May 4, 2007 11:34 am

    Casey,
    I also love the splotchy look – great loose painting! I love the feeling that comes over me when I’ve tried to motivate myself by specifying a “micromovement” for a project (like today – i.e. I’ll just get out the stabilizer) and before I know it the project takes off and I’m done!
    Shirley

  3. May 4, 2007 11:42 am

    This work you are doing in the walnut stain is really powerful. I love this portrait. Beautiful loose splashes that define his face beautifully

  4. May 4, 2007 3:25 pm

    I agree, this is great, the effect of the walnut stain is very interesting and effective!

  5. May 4, 2007 4:08 pm

    I love this one too, Casey! I missed so much not being able to re-find your blog. Don’t underestimate the great work you are doing! You have a beautiful painterly style. The still life you did the multimedia ‘rescue’ on looks like a totally considered work of art. The blue pastel of the jug vibrates!

  6. May 4, 2007 5:14 pm

    I’m glad you’re painting again! You’re so right that the best way out of a slump is to paint something and just have fun. I like the splodginess and the addition of a light wash. Keep painting!

  7. May 4, 2007 6:55 pm

    Very well done! Value is the hardest aspect of painting for me. You’ve got it nailed!

  8. May 5, 2007 6:56 am

    Hi! I like this a lot! By the way, I think that when you are resizing a photo in wordpress (and most places), if you hold down the shift key while dragging the corner of the photo, it’ll resize “to scale”. Hope that helps! 🙂

  9. May 5, 2007 7:37 pm

    I am dying to try the magical “brou de noix” since seeing your and Ronell’s recent drawings … This is superb! That splotch effect is very appealing. I’d say you should consider yourself de-slumped.

  10. September 18, 2007 8:01 pm

    This painting is so cute

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

