Skip to content

In Brittany with Laura

October 7, 2009

I’ve been back from Brittany for almost a week, but struggling with finishing some translation work, grieving for my old kitty who died while I was gone, and getting used to the new kitten we adopted yesterday.

Laura of Laurelines has already published the gorgeous sketches she did while we were together rented a house in the countryside and very generously invited me to come along and stay for a few days.  It was so much fun that I ended up staying a week. The weather was amazing, especially for Brittany, and I discovered that I love it there. This is very good news for my husband, who has been trying to convince me to like Brittany for years.  He’s very grateful to Laura!

I have a lot of sketches posted on Flickr, – here are a few, and I’ll probably post some more later in the week.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 3:16 pm

    Thanks for sharing these fabulous views! Glad you had so much fun and wonderful weather in Brittany. Hope you were able to listen to some local music!
    Good news about making room for a new kitty (that very lucky feline!). They sure are wild when they’re young – but (mostly) entertaining.

  2. October 7, 2009 4:11 pm

    First, I am so sorry to hear of your loss. Our pets are so much a part of the family. I hope the new little one brings you as much pleasure.

    LOVE these free and happy sketches!!!

  3. October 7, 2009 7:02 pm

    Casey, these are gorgeous sketches! Your mark-making is so lively and the colour is fresh and vibrant as ever. Just astonishingly good.

  4. October 7, 2009 7:28 pm

    I was so sorry to read about your loss but really pleased you’ve made room for a kitten :>) He/she’ll be their own little character and help you through.

    These sketches are lovely. I’ve never been to Brittany but it’s supposed to be quite like Cornwall – so I’m sure I’d love it!

  5. danscanvas permalink
    October 8, 2009 12:59 am

    These are so varied, so bright, and as usual so beautiful – I just love your style and technique.

  6. October 8, 2009 4:58 am

    Hi Casey, Your colors and lines ares so LIVELY! You make this look so easy and natural!

    And, lucky new kitten!

  7. October 8, 2009 10:50 pm

    Such wonderful, lively and colorful sketches, Casey.

  8. October 9, 2009 6:18 am

    Casey, I’m so sorry about Mittens. Pets really do become family. You’ve done some beautiful sketches of him, and I know he was special to you. I have always wanted to head to Brittany, and I feel like I’ve been there as an armchair traveler through your/Laura’s posts. Really enjoying what you’ve shared with us. You painted the love of place right into these!

  9. October 9, 2009 4:28 pm

    It’s such fun to see these on your blog! And I love the new banner! I was there at its creation ;D.
    Can’t wait to see you and Michel in Paris.
    Xxoo,
    L

  10. annie permalink
    October 9, 2009 6:17 pm

    Casey, I have been looking forward to your sketching trip with Laura. It is so much fun to see your different takes on a scene, and I am eager to see the rest of the sketches that you each post. Thanks for sharing these with us. I am glad that you got the new kitten–while it doesn’t ease the grief of a loss, a kitten is so comical that it does lift our hearts.
    annie

  11. October 11, 2009 5:50 am

    It’s always such a wonderful pleasure to have a look at your watercolours. Shapes, colour combinations, line work, etc, they are so lively. hugs. martín

  12. October 14, 2009 6:14 pm

    I think I commented on these on Flickr. They are gorgeous. Your paintings are always so fresh.

  13. October 19, 2009 5:51 am

    These are so beautiful, full of light and life! It sounds like a heavenly spot, and so very calm and quiet, something that sounds so appealing right now! I’m sorry to hear that you lost Mittens who’d been part of your family for 16 years. I hope the new baby will help you through the grieving.

  14. November 7, 2009 7:23 pm

    I can smell Brittany just looking at these. Sigh… that’s where I prefer to be!! Lovely sketches!
    MD
    x

Trackbacks

  1. In Brittany with Laura « edm superBlog2

Leave a comment

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    Eric J May on Violette Leduc
    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other subscribers
  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs