Skip to content

Caped Crusaders

January 24, 2011

I have 2 black and white cats, a very portly, timid male and a fearless female kitten, who bosses him around with no mercy. When they`re sleeping, they make pretty good models.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 6:20 pm

    these are utterly gorgeous – beautifully fluid and catching the essence of cats

  2. January 24, 2011 7:49 pm

    These are charming. I love the black and white rhythms you’ve established.

  3. annie permalink
    January 24, 2011 9:55 pm

    I love both posts. Cats have the greatest lines just begging to be sketched.
    I can never see enough of them.

    annie

  4. January 25, 2011 7:46 am

    En variant les poses tu le faids bouger en dormant ! superbe !

  5. January 25, 2011 2:26 pm

    Tu as de la chance qu’ils restent tranquille pendant que tu les croques!!!La mienne lève le camp dès que je commence ,c’est agaçant🙂
    Très beaux croquis!

  6. January 28, 2011 3:03 am

    These are wonderful! How do you get them to sit still like that. Mine seem to know when I’m trying to draw them and keep moving or run and hide.

  7. Sherry permalink
    January 29, 2011 3:13 pm

    Casey your last two posts really caught my attention. I think your figures are marvelous! I am also a fan of posemaniacs for the intensity of the drawing experience. Where else can you get that much practice so quickly? Your figures have what mine often do not – a sense of weight, of being rooted to the ground, affected by gravity. It makes me want to dedicate myself to returning to life drawing. Your cats also attracted me. I also have a black and white cat, and love the way the patterns on her fur shift as she moves around trying to keep warm in the sun or near a heating vent. Simplicity! Your sketches are inspiring.

  8. caseytoussaint permalink*
    January 31, 2011 9:02 pm

    Thank you They are so gorgeous that I always want to draw them, but it is hard to get them to stay in one place. The day I did this I’d been sitting quietly next them for a while, so they didn’t notice when I began to draw.They do move all the time though, which is why these are so sketchy. Sherry, I’d love to see drawings of yours. I’ll be watching for them.

  9. February 5, 2011 7:44 pm

    Splendid ! They are very gorgeous !

  10. February 7, 2011 8:44 pm

    Casey! These sketches are exceptional (as are the cats, I’m sure). You’re right about sleeping cats as models. I can’t count the times I’ve started sketches of my cats, awake, and have had to let the idea go!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

