Skip to content

Ficelle

December 22, 2010

A friend of mine asked me to do some small drawings of her cat for a framing project she’s working on (she needs 3).  Here are a few preliminary ones.  I’m working from photos, and I find it difficult not to get fussy, so I’ll probably do a few more of these until I get it right.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 10:04 am

    Love them particularlly the second one.

  2. December 22, 2010 12:33 pm

    I find cats not easy at all! I love these! So spontaneous, and real ! Wonderful and expressive!

  3. December 22, 2010 7:32 pm

    Cats are indeed difficult to portray. Yours is nicely loose and fluffy :)! Love feline mannerisms you have caught!

  4. December 22, 2010 9:10 pm

    Beautiful colors and line. Lucky friend.

  5. December 23, 2010 4:45 am

    Love these, Casey! Fuss all you like but each of these is right in its own way. I’m particularly fond of upper left, upper right and bottom right. You should review Andy Warhol’s pen and watercolor cats, Alexander Calder’s ink animals (I think there’s a cat) and maybe one or two by Cocteau. Your friend will be thrilled!

  6. December 27, 2010 7:38 pm

    Your kitties

  7. December 27, 2010 7:42 pm

    Sorry for that..the computer played a trick on me.
    Your kitties are lovely expressive…I like them all and I’m sure your friend will be very happy with your finished drawings!
    Ronell

  8. December 28, 2010 5:54 am

    These are fantastic! Some of the best cat sketches I’ve ever seen. Wonderful lines, colors, softness and attitude!

  9. January 1, 2011 5:58 pm

    Love them! I always love your use of color. Happy New Year!

  10. January 3, 2011 2:25 pm

    I know what you mean about working from photos…but these are SO UNFUSSY. They are gorgeous!!! Love them just as they are. Makes me want to have a cat:)

  11. January 7, 2011 6:59 am

    I love the first two!!!!!!

  12. January 13, 2011 1:11 am

    He’s a lovely kitty…..or she.

  13. January 15, 2011 5:28 am

    Hi Casey, I always enjoy looking at your watercolors. The lines and shapes are poetic. You capture the feel and gesture of a kitty superbly!

  14. January 17, 2011 7:14 pm

    Tu parfaitement su reproduire les attitudes de ce chat,bravo!!!

  15. January 31, 2011 6:07 am

    Magnifiques croquis! on s’attend à entendre le chat ronronner!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

