Skip to content

Finally – my Sketchbook is Finished!

November 16, 2010

Anybody who is wondering where I disappeared to lately – here’s one of the things that’s been keeping me occupied. I’m sure you’ve heard of the Sketchbook Project, it’s all over the internet. I signed up to do one last July – and among the 4 or 5 themes they gave me to choose from, I chose ‘First Thing in the Morning, Last Thing at Night.’  It seemed like an ok theme, until I started trying to figure out what to do – and I was terribly uninspired.  First thing, I decided, was to change the paper.  The sketchbooks they send you are the basic moleskine (not watercolor) and I hate working on the yellowish, shiny paper they come with.    My friend Dominique helped me to replace all the pages with one big foldout sheet of watercolor.  She thought I should change the cover too, but the rules say you have to keep at least a part of the original. It still took me a while to move on the project – all I could think of were toothbrushes. Surfing around internet, fishing for ideas, I came across a discussion about insomnia here, and used the advice and comments as a basis for my book – kind of an illustrated conversation.  Once I was started, it was a lot of fun.  I’m awfully glad to be sending it off now, and to get back to painting other things.  here’s a slideshow that gives you a glimpse – if you are in one of the cities that the sketchbook show will travel to (you can find out on their website) , go and have a look!

Click on any of the pictures to get a better look.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 3:00 pm

    Wonderful. I look forward to seeing your sketchbook in person.

    I also have been working on one. First, yes, changing the paper.

  2. November 16, 2010 3:18 pm

    You must really be excited to have all this work behind you. What an accomplishment! From what I can tell its amazing! Congratulation’s.

  3. November 16, 2010 4:54 pm

    Looks great. Congratulations!!

  4. November 16, 2010 5:20 pm

    Beautiful and fascinating, Casey. Perhaps you could turn it into a Blurb book because it is such a useful little book. I couldn’t work out how to slow the Slides down enough to read every word. Yes, I wanted to read every word, that’s why I think you have an interesting book there.🙂

  5. November 16, 2010 5:59 pm

    Ah mais alors tu m’as devancée, moi je n’ai aps fini ! j’adore ta mise en page, en fait tu as réuni les pages pour en faire une sorte de grand panneau ? Moi je colle les pages 2 par 2 car c’et vraiment impossible de faire quelquechose sur ce papier aussi fin. Bravo, ton carnet est stylé et dans la même harmonie avec les textes par dessus les dessins.

  6. annie permalink
    November 16, 2010 9:01 pm

    A darling little book, Casey. I loved the slides, but agree with Robyn that it would be fun to slow it down so we could read all of it.

    annie

  7. November 17, 2010 1:41 am

    Congratulations on completion! What a great job you did! I am looking forward to seeing your sketchbook in person, I am so lucky to live in Chicago, which is one of the stop of the tour. Do you have your sketches uploaded on Art House site?

  8. November 17, 2010 11:11 am

    Thank you for looking – I did try to upload some things to the arthouse website but I think their portfolio function is down right now.
    @Jean and Alix – thank you for saying you’ll look at my book – I had horrible visions of zero requests for it!
    @Robyn and annie – if you keep clicking on a photo, you eventually get to a still of it, with the option of seeing it full size.
    @izys – mais, j’ai triché, moi – je n’ai fait qu’une grande page en réalité (ok, le verso aussi)

  9. November 17, 2010 2:23 pm

    Congratulations Casey – I was too chicken to even try that project – your sketchbook looks beautiful, with a great theme, fascinating to all who’ve spent time staring at the dark ceiling hoping to fall asleep!

  10. November 18, 2010 1:48 pm

    Great, now I can read it too. Love your use of the brush pen, Casey particularly on the Feng Shui page.

  11. annie permalink
    November 18, 2010 2:24 pm

    Yep, the clicks work. Enjoyed the details so much.
    Annie

  12. November 18, 2010 8:53 pm

    wonderful :>)

  13. November 21, 2010 10:16 pm

    Oh this is so cool, Casey. Intertesting, creative and artful solution for the Sketchbook Project. Congratulations!

  14. November 22, 2010 6:14 am

    Wow! Quite a project. I considered participating but decided not to in the end as I had too many other things I wanted to do. I hope you were able to make a copy of the book to keep for yourself. I’ll definitely go see it when it comes to SF.

  15. November 24, 2010 10:55 pm

    “All I could think of were toothbrushes!” Hahaha…I can so relate. I entered the Sketchbook Project last time around…and was completely stumped. I never finished😦

    Love what you’ve created. Sometimes it just takes a little time and percolation.

  16. December 2, 2010 10:44 pm

    What a great job! Gorgeous! I’m looking forward to seeing it in person when it’s in Chicago this summer!

  17. April 16, 2011 9:08 pm

    I’m trying to figure out how to subscribe via email to your wonderful blog. Found you I don’t know how – maybe because of the sketchbook project? I too entered and 2 friends as well………

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

