Skip to content

Sicily

October 4, 2010

First of all, if you have received any weird messages or wall postings from my facebook account – please delete them.  My account was hacked into while I was away.

We just got back from a trip to Sicily – half business, all pleasure.  It was just a small taste of what Sicily has to offer, and now I’m dying to go back to spend more time – but who knows when that will be…

We didn’t have a whole lot of free time, but I did manage to scribble a few impressions.  Some of them are too large to scan, and I need to recharge my camera’s battery, so I’ll just post the smaller ones today.

We stayed in a hotel in Santa Tecla, on the south coast. We took one afternoon off to just hang around and swim in the pool and the ocean – and I was able to sketch the view from the pool, and from our balcony. (I had to crop these to scan them.)

The hotel was near the town of Aci Reale, known for its baroque architecture.

The town of Notto is also a gorgeous showcase for baroque style – a little over the top, kind of like a giant wedding cake.  It’s awfully complicated to draw, but I sketched a window and started to do a fountain, when the skies opened up and it rained like crazy.

Sicily is also a great place to see Greek ruins – here are a couple of sketches from the valley of the Temples, near Agrigente.

Now I’d better try to get my house in order after being away for so long, and deal with my neurotic cat, who has completely forgotten who I am.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 9:31 am

    Tes croquis sont toujours aussi vivants… une spontanéité que j’aime beaucoup… Quant à ton chat, j’espère qu’il ronronne maintenant près de toi !!

  2. October 4, 2010 11:19 am

    These are delightful; love the line.

  3. October 4, 2010 12:05 pm

    I love your sketches, they are very lively and loose! Sicily must be beautiful! You are lucky!

  4. October 5, 2010 3:38 am

    Hi Casey, Wow! You’ve had a busy summer! Sicily sounds wonderful. As always, your drawings are delightful and fun to look at. I admire your lyrical line.

  5. October 5, 2010 5:00 pm

    Seems to me like you’ve been painting your socks off! These are gorgeous. I really do wish I had the confidence to draw on location. The only picture I managed when we were on holiday in beautiful Cornwall was the car park in Morrisons …

  6. October 5, 2010 9:27 pm

    Delightful sketches!
    P.S. Your cat didn’t forget you. She’s just giving you the cold shoulder for being away, at least that’s what mine does when we’ve been away for awhile.

  7. October 9, 2010 12:25 am

    Love your Sicily sketches! They have a very special atmosphere that I cannot define having never been to Sicily. Perhaps it’s the local air…

  8. October 11, 2010 12:22 pm

    How I long for the day when I can title a post “Sicily”. Your trip sounds and LOOKS amazing. You never disappoint with the documentation🙂 Best to you Casey!

  9. Sandy permalink
    October 11, 2010 6:01 pm

    Casey – looks glorious and sounds glorious – I have not visited the south of Italy – I had my facebook account hacked a while back too – whatever for I cannot guess.

  10. October 16, 2010 12:35 am

    Beautiful sketches Casey — gorgeous colors!
    –why DO people hack into facebook accounts anyway?

  11. October 25, 2010 4:56 pm

    Awesome art you are creating! I love it !!!

  12. annie permalink
    November 3, 2010 1:57 pm

    Oh, lovely, Casey. I hope you get the chance to go back, too. But, in the meantime,
    you have these delightful memory pictures. I like how you fill in the line work with
    colorful shadows and lights– you almost sculpt with them. And I agree with
    Barbara Weeks, your cat remembers you and your absence VERY WELL– she’s
    giving you the finger.

    annie

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

