Skip to content

An Evening at the New York Society of Illustrators

September 14, 2010

While in the States recently, I was lucky enough to meet up with Shirley on the night she goes to a life drawing session at the New York Society of Illustrators. We met up with another artist and good friend of Shirley’s , Istar Schwager, for an early dinner, and went over to set up before the crowds got too big. I had so much fun – there were musicians playing, there was a bar for us to get a glass of wine, and such a wonderful crowd of artists there to draw, as well as some truly inspiring work in the galleries downstairs.  The models were dressed the night I went, almost costumed, which added tot the fun.  If I lived in NYC, I’d go every week!  The night I went there were 2 models posing simultaneously, and the poses went from 5 minutes to 20 minutes. Shirley had made me a sketchbook out of a large sheet of watercolor paper which I almost used up during the 3-hour session.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 4:33 pm

    What a wonderful post, Casey! Splendid series of sketches from what I imagine could have been quite an intimidating environment. I love the palette, the line, everything. My favourite is the girl looking over her shoulder. Brava!!

  2. September 14, 2010 4:36 pm

    And what a treat to have one of Shirley’s sketchbooks to remember it all🙂

  3. September 14, 2010 4:44 pm

    OH YES! Your drawings are superb. I can feel the energy and excitement in your line and gesture.

  4. martin permalink
    September 14, 2010 5:13 pm

    They are all wonderful sketches Casey! I’m so glad you had a great time! Hugs, Martín.

  5. September 14, 2010 6:57 pm

    Sounds like a fabulous night. Love the sketches.

  6. September 14, 2010 8:36 pm

    Fabulous use of the paper. Sounds like fun, too.

  7. Veronica permalink
    September 14, 2010 9:06 pm

    Nice to have you back Casey,
    especially newly inspired by NYC!

  8. September 15, 2010 9:37 am

    so nice to see you again, I was here about to comment on your wonderful sketches but couldn’t at the time. Then I saw you had stopped by – nice lovely coincidence.

    I love these sketches – gorgeous!!

  9. September 15, 2010 10:38 am

    Excellent! Full of life and movement!

  10. September 15, 2010 11:16 pm

    beautifully drawn Casey-
    Looks like a fun time!

  11. September 16, 2010 6:47 pm

    J’aime ce trait un peu sec et nerveux.

  12. September 17, 2010 1:01 pm

    Your figures are wonderful, Casey! I love the shadows!

  13. September 21, 2010 2:48 pm

    Oh Casey…these are lovely! They remind me of some of my favorite types of advertisements from the 1950s. Love how you’ve selectively applied shadow/color.

  14. December 12, 2010 4:20 pm

    I absolutely LOVE these !

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

