Skip to content

Vacation Sketches, Part 2 – Graphite

July 15, 2010

Sitting in a café next to the market in Toulon, I grabbed a 6b pencil and started sketching the people at the table next to me.  I had forgotten what a wonderful medium graphite is to work in.  Although it doesn’t look as good on a computer screen as color, I find it gives a wonderfully sensitive line.  For the next couple of days I kept scribbling, first at the market :

And later at an outdoor concert near Hyères (I wasn’t crazy about the music, so it was nice to have something to do!)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 12:34 pm

    Great sketches! It is freeing, I bet, to use graphite. My hand has seemed a bit frozen lately in public. I really like the spread with the guitarist and the audience, and with the guitarist you really took advantage of the medium – the shading is great!

  2. annie permalink
    July 15, 2010 3:34 pm

    I agree with Dan, Casey. Wonderful lines (and they show up beautifully dark on my computer) and shadows.
    annie

  3. July 15, 2010 3:49 pm

    I love graphite sketches and they give a particular impression of the scene. Lovely!

  4. July 15, 2010 4:30 pm

    Love seeing these, Casey. I particularly like the profile at bottom and the guitarist (and guitar). Have you tried the Derwent water soluble sketching pencils? If not, I recommend them and think you might have fun with them.

  5. July 15, 2010 9:27 pm

    I like these a lot, Casey. You convey so much with such simple lines.

  6. July 15, 2010 9:53 pm

    Wonderful sketches! I find myself going back to pencil every once in awhile too. Then I found water-soluble ink for sketching…what fun that is!

  7. judybecklobos permalink
    July 21, 2010 12:50 am

    nice sketches Casey–your graphite drawings are so refreshing!

  8. August 1, 2010 12:46 am

    Wonderful…I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned that I thoroughly enjoy your drawings! They’re expressive and poetic, besides being great! Congrats on your notebook returning, too.

  9. August 19, 2010 10:28 pm

    I love these, they are so spontaneous and fun…

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

