Skip to content

Summer Sketches

July 13, 2010

I’ve had a hard time sitting at my computer these last few weeks, due to a brutal heat wave here in France, coupled with technical difficulties with my scanner that makes posting pictures a multi-step process that seems to take forever. It’s a bit cooler this morning, and I’ve just done a scanning marathon.

We just got back from a short trip to the South of France, where we stayed with friends on an amazing property that’s been in the same family for over 200 years. It was hot, humid, and there were millions of mosquitos, but I forced myself to do a couple of sketches.  I would have loved to do more, but just couldn’t. You can probably tell that they were quickly done, due to the circumstances.

We also spent some time on the beach, mostly early and late in the day, due to the heat.  I get bored on the beach if I’m not drawing….

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 12:12 pm

    Wonderful to see some sketches from you again, Casey. One would never know you were being feasted upon while you were trying to paint🙂 Lovely summer moments.

    Drat, I wish I were closer so I could apply to join your life drawing group.

  2. Veronica permalink
    July 13, 2010 12:14 pm

    Welcome back! Glad you had a great time.
    You even managed to capture the weight of the heat.
    I love the last bather.
    See you soon!

  3. July 13, 2010 1:17 pm

    It’s great to see these Casey! I love to see the essential images that arise from the quickest sketches and prefer them over belabored drawings. Looks like everyone’s baking. I know what you mean about trying to work outside in brutal heat (or cold!) under attack from mosquitos (or bitter winds!) and so forth. Also about just sitting around on the beach. I need to be swimming or walking or hunting for shells or… sketching!

  4. annie permalink
    July 13, 2010 1:37 pm

    As we all will tell you, we love what is captured by quick impressions. And yours are as much fun as ever. But how you could draw your way through mosquitos and heat…annie

  5. July 13, 2010 3:14 pm

    wonderful
    Work

    good
    sources
    of
    Inspiration

  6. July 13, 2010 5:08 pm

    Love those kind of sketches. With a gesture of liberty and an economy of lines and shadows. Really lovely and with the spirit of holidays.

  7. July 13, 2010 7:13 pm

    Hi Casey, Your drawings are wonderfully elegant. Drawing and painting outside always sounds wonderful…until you think of the mosquitoes, biting bugs, wind, sand,…etc. I think you’ve done a superb job!

  8. July 13, 2010 8:06 pm

    I love these Casey.. so free, loose, watery ! evocative ! Bravo !

  9. July 14, 2010 1:34 am

    These are great–you did such a good job of capturing people relaxing in the sun: the essence of summer. I’d never know you were being eaten alive!

  10. July 14, 2010 6:31 am

    Your beach people and even some of the trees look so enervated from the heat. All the pictures seem to have visible heat waves. The colors and lines are really great! I hope the holiday was fun even though the weather wasn’t.

  11. July 14, 2010 6:43 am

    Thanks very much for doing all that scanning. I love these sketches – I think it’s the boldness of your lines that I like so much. I do particularly like the top one.

  12. July 14, 2010 8:19 am

    J’adore tes personnages de quelques traits, quelques touches de couleur et voilà ! Ils sont vivants mais accablés par la chaleur !

  13. July 14, 2010 1:28 pm

    These are brilliant, Casey! So loose and real!

  14. July 18, 2010 2:49 pm

    such lovely loose atmospheric sketches :>)

  15. July 28, 2010 8:17 pm

    Don’t know how I missed these delightful sketches. I love how such a simple line catches the figure so perfectly.

  16. September 3, 2010 7:17 am

    Oh I love them all! Particularly those of people at the beach! So loose and relaxed!
    I have been away from blogs most summer, and now I’m back again, you’re off to the US!! We’ll catch up when you come back. Your catching up will be quick, I haven’t sketched anything all summer!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

