Skip to content

Street Scene in Turkey

June 11, 2010

I had an awful time painting a landscape from the photo I chose to work with this week – I wasted days on it and was ready to give up oil painting altogether.  I couldn’t work out exactly where I was going wrong , but I think it had a lot to do with the fact that the photo didn’t give enough information, and also that the light source wasn’t clear, and I had a hard time being consistent. Finally yesterday I tried doing it in pastel and couldn’t do that either, without a radical simplification.  I then altered my oil painting to look more like the pastel – eliminating 3 trees in the process. I don’t know what I thinkof it, but here it is.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 8:46 am

    i really like your minimalistic approach in this piece : )

  2. June 11, 2010 11:34 am

    I like the apparent simplicity of it and the geometric forms you have got there. Grezt!

  3. June 11, 2010 4:45 pm

    I like it! I think it looks great and conveys a real mood of weather and place.

  4. June 11, 2010 6:19 pm

    Yes, I love the abstraction in this piece! Also the colors are so harmonious; and I also love the strokes giving such movement !

  5. June 11, 2010 8:18 pm

    I already commented on this on Flickr but just had to see what you blogged about it. I love it! The color palette is great and the composition superb.

  6. June 12, 2010 3:04 am

    I always enjoy hearing about the obstacles an artist faces in a piece, so it was good to read about your feelings with this one, but since I was looking at this with none of your history, I find it just lovely. I tried to leave a better comment earlier but it gave me an error message, and for the life of me I can’t remember how I put it earlier! sorry. I do so hope you will NOT throw in the towel with oils, because I think you seem to take to them so naturally and I love your work in oils.

  7. June 12, 2010 6:14 am

    Lovely, simple and very atmospheric! I am traveling at the moment and making photos and sketches of locations. I am thinking of you often when I try to sketch scenes I observe in watercolor. I love your technique and am trying to come up with my own but with a similar feel.

  8. June 22, 2010 7:21 am

    I like the way you painted it, it does feel like pastel and it gives textures to the walls. As for the composition, I don’t quite like the walls on the left, there’s too much of it maybe… but I’m no expert.

  9. June 25, 2010 10:47 am

    I liked your approach in handling this one. The colors are limited and soothing, there is an openness of the space . I also liked the subtle impressions of the people. Enjoyed all the other works too!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

