Skip to content

A Seascape and some recent sketches from life

May 22, 2010

This is number 30 for me in the 100 landscapes project.  I’m finally starting to understand  value in the landscape.  Funny how much easier it is for me to get it right in a still life…

And it occurred to me recently that while I do lots of life drawing, sometimes twice a week, I almost never get around to posting any here.  So here are a few samples of what I’ve been doing lately – I’ve been working on very large sheets of paper and sketching in ink and watercolor – and having lots of fun.  These are mainly 5 minute sketches, with a few three to seven minute ones thrown in.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2010 3:15 pm

    WOW, that is a gorgeous seascape!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. May 22, 2010 5:11 pm

    I was enjoying your beautiful seascape, Casey and then I spotted all those fantastic life studies. Wow, your focus on life drawing is really paying off. Wonderful!

  3. Dan permalink
    May 23, 2010 10:03 pm

    These are amazing life sketches (already commented on your wonderful landscape at the other site). Beautiful job.

    When you said “sketches from life”, I thought of a restaurant, a train. Then I saw what you drew! Hope it’s a life drawing session, or you French are definitely living up to your reputation!

  4. May 24, 2010 11:48 pm

    Hi! It’s great to watch your landscapes evolve. I love the freedom of working on a large scale… The value on the bottom figure of the bottom sheet is superb!

  5. May 26, 2010 11:04 am

    I love it! I couldn’t say what’s changing but your style is definitely evolving. I think we can feel more confidence… Anyway it’s a fantactic painting! Congratulations!

    I like your sketches very much too! Same there, more confidence. I’ll just add one word: More, please!

  6. May 27, 2010 5:28 pm

    Wow, and wow! Your seascape is beautiful – clear deep colours, and luscious paint. And then your figure drawings, as always so accurately observed and yet spontaneously done! It all looks so effortless. Grr!

  7. May 28, 2010 2:01 pm

    I always love your life drawings. The oils are wonderful. They keep getting better and better!

  8. quirkyartist permalink
    May 31, 2010 11:07 pm

    I am wowed by your vivid summery seascape. Life drawing – you are so good at it and I like the way you use the colour.

  9. Nath permalink
    August 7, 2013 12:50 pm

    C’est magnifique Casey !

Trackbacks

  1. A Seascape and some recent sketches from life « the EDM superBlog

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

