Skip to content

My Trip to Turkey – Part 2

April 28, 2010

Here are some more quick impressions jotted down during my recent trip to Turkey.

A bit of the library at Ephesus:

A couple of views from our hotel in Sirince

and some sketches from a café in the same town:

Tomorrow I’ll post some sketches done in Istanbul, but in the mean time, I’ve just posted an oil done from photos on 100 Landscapes, and I’ll reproduce it here.  This was in an olive grove in which there was an old temple of Zeus.  There was almost no one there when we made an unplanned stop – it was the most magical place…

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 9:50 am

    Oh, these make me homesick—or tripsick, I guess is more accurate! I love, love, love the roofscape—and the women, but the color in the original is much more daring, more Fauvist, isn’t it? And I also love your oil of Euromos—funnily enough, for me that afternoon was all about cool colors. You’ve made the scene so warm, yellow and pink where I would have done silver, blue, gray. It is SO fun to see your approach to these things!

  2. April 28, 2010 11:45 am

    Casey – I always enjoy your travel sketches so much. My favourite here is the two ladies having a chat. Great characters.

    Your olive grove oil painting is just beautiful. You’ve captured the silver highlights of the olive leaves perfectly. Brava, brava.

  3. April 28, 2010 12:50 pm

    WOW — Robyn is right -your silvery leaves ARE magical Casey! love the amazing colors in the whole painting!!
    So fun to see all the travel sketches too. Looks like a marvelous trip!!!
    I like your idea of a blog based on poetry– would be very cool! of course, after the 100 landscapes!

  4. April 28, 2010 4:48 pm

    I loved your impressions particularly the one of the Ephesus library I immediatly recognized. Great work!

  5. April 28, 2010 10:06 pm

    The silvery olive grove is indeed magical! Enchanting!

    Love the sketches also, they are very lively – wish I was there🙂 ! I will be traveling to far parts of the world in a couple of weeks and hope to make a visual travel narrative. Studying yours gives me great ideas – thank you!

  6. April 29, 2010 7:25 am

    Beautiful sketches – I especially like the ones with people in. And I love your oil painting – what a lovely place!

  7. April 30, 2010 6:07 pm

    Casey, these are gorgeous. I always enjoy your watercolors, and that oil painting is to die for–you are really good with oils!

  8. May 1, 2010 5:31 am

    The sketches are priceless! I enjoyed each one more than the one before it, just a delight to scroll through. And the big tree painting–Wow! How big is it? I’m going to start working bigger now too.

  9. May 2, 2010 5:31 pm

    J’aime beaucoup tes desisns faits du café. Toujours très vivants tes croquis.

  10. May 11, 2010 11:25 am

    Une belle série de croquis gais et colorés!!!
    Et la peinture des oliviers est juste magnifique!!!Bravo!

  11. May 20, 2010 10:05 am

    Your sketches are so nice. They remind me of Dufy.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

