Skip to content

My Trip to Turkey – Part 1

April 19, 2010

I’ve been having trouble with my scanner so these are mostly photographs, and may be distorted for that. I got back last week from a sketching trip to Turkey with Laura of Laurelines – don’t forget to look at her gorgeous sketches! We had a wonderful time and were just enchanted by the countryside, the archaeological sites, the people…We were also spoiled by some good friends who took us around and organized everything.  It really was perfect.  Since I’ve been home I’ve been plotting to go back with my husband.

I’ve been working in a panoramic format, which doesn’t look very good on this blog, but it does seem kind of silly to only draw things that look good on my blog.

I guess I’ll do this in chronological order, for lack of a better way to organize.

Scenes from a Garden near Bodrum :

Pirene – the Arena, a bit of wall, and a goatherd having a chat on the way up the mountain :

The panoramic ones can be seen in more detail on Flickr. More soon!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 1:53 pm

    Hi Casey, Your on-location paintings are inspiring! I like how you get the feel of a place with gesture, simple line and wash!

  2. April 19, 2010 2:19 pm

    Hi Casey,
    welcome home! your sketches are wonderful — I love your spontaneity!!

  3. April 19, 2010 2:45 pm

    Beautiful sketches, Casey!

  4. April 19, 2010 2:58 pm

    Great work, Casey!

  5. April 20, 2010 4:39 am

    Stunning sketches so full of life! I especially like the last one — wasn’t sure what theywere doing but it definitely intrigued me. I’m glad you guys were able to get home safely despite all the travel nightmares due to volcanoes and strikes!

  6. April 20, 2010 12:54 pm

    What fun!!! I so wish blogs could give a better sense of original sketches—-I think both yours and mine are suffering in reproduction. Somehow our Turkey trip ones are suffering more than usual.
    Anyway, so glad to see these and can’t wait to see more!

  7. annie permalink
    April 20, 2010 2:02 pm

    I love them all, Casey, and it’s such fun to follow you and Laura, together, around Turkish sites.
    Both of yours look great to me, but if they lose in reproduction, I cannot imagine how much more wonderful they must be “in person.”
    annie

  8. April 22, 2010 3:23 pm

    Great sketches!!!! Bet you had a blast on your trip!!!!

  9. April 24, 2010 9:47 pm

    I love how you combined the line work with wonderful free color application! Gorgeous.

  10. April 29, 2010 12:09 am

    Oh Casey these are wonderful (as everyone has already said)… I so admire your style… I can’t wait to see more…do you draw in pencil first ever?… or do you just dive in with the pen… I’m such a coward… I can’t seem to ween myself off the pencil.

  11. caseytoussaint permalink*
    April 30, 2010 1:40 pm

    Thank you! To answer your question, Elaine – I usually lightly pencil in my subject, then add color, and then add line. I need to work in stages – I aways get things wrong on the first try.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

