Skip to content

Update from the 100 Landscapes Project

March 12, 2010

I’m still plowing away at my 100 Landscapes Project.  Some are awful, some I quite like, and in general the curve is going upward.

A few people have joined in – notably Judy Bec who has beendoing a lot in watercolor, as opposed to my oils.

Here are numbers 13 and 14.

The photos are awful, but I can’t find the battery pack for my newer and better camera, and so was forced to use an old one.

I’m still working from photos and cheap paint.  As soon as the weather breaks and my new equipment arrivesI’ll try to go outdoors.  I’m actually not minding the cheap paint, but I’m sure it will be a huge difference when I do switch over.  This is beginning to be a lot of fun – I’m letting go of the stress I used to feel and really enjoying the process.

This one is a scene from a photo my husband took in Hana, on Maui – I was painting that day and missed out. People (now aperson since I painted one figure out) collecting something or other on the beach.

And this one is of a mysterious house owned by a wealthy, excentric old Amboise family.  Local gossip has them connected to an American railroad heiress a few generations back.  It is on a huge property, which must be worth a fortune, but goes completely unmaintained.  I caught a glimpse of it through the trees the other day, while walking to the hardware store to pick up some canvas panels.  I almost always drive,  and it isn’t visible in summer, so I’d never seen the house before from this angle. I may rework this still, as I’m not completely happy with the shapes.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 10:58 am

    These are really beautiful, Casey. The figures on the shore are awesome. I’ve missed the beginning of this project so I’m going to backtrack to find out all about it. Gorgeous work.

  2. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    March 12, 2010 11:14 am

    I am enjoying seeing the landscapes pop up on the web since our landscape has been frozen for so long.

  3. annie permalink
    March 12, 2010 11:28 am

    I agree with Robyn and Lisa– lovely. And soon there will be more who also agree, Casey. The excitement of exploring on a beach.. The house looks mysterious, and the old trees look as if
    they are still protecting it from view. Wonderful how you transform your “cheap paint” into something so expressive.

    annie

  4. March 12, 2010 3:08 pm

    Your oils are really amazing, Casey–you seem to have naturally taken to them. Your style is so different in watercolor and oils, and I’m envious of both.

  5. benedictedelachanal permalink
    March 12, 2010 3:42 pm

    Love both of them, the way you treat colors, shapes…
    It is a good project, 100 landscapes, and you are only at 13 and 14! Imagine the 100th one!

  6. March 13, 2010 3:27 am

    Hi Casey, These are great! I particularly like the colors of the top piece. Your brush work is wonderful and lively. Nicely done!

  7. March 13, 2010 10:38 pm

    I really like them both! I like the fairytale feeling of the view through the trees very much, but it is the seascape really makes me swoon. I don’t know what is it about it – it is rather simple (or perhaps deceptively so?…), but it makes me want to keep looking at it. Captivating!

  8. March 14, 2010 3:18 am

    Casey, these are both really beautiful. Great brushstrokes creating light, movement and shape in the water, the figure and the rocks in the top one.

  9. March 14, 2010 1:11 pm

    I like the idea of using cheap materials to encourage an uninhibited approach and fast working.

  10. Vivien Wilson permalink
    March 14, 2010 1:13 pm

    What size of paper are you working on, Casey?

  11. March 14, 2010 8:23 pm

    The light is fabulous in the seascape! I will be posting my struggley seascapes later today on 100 Paintings. I just talked to my mom who told me that she followed the photo of you on my blog to your blog and then spent hours enjoying yours. She tried to print out the photo of me on your blog and ended up printing out 17 pages of your blog instead. (She got her first computer last year at age 86).

  12. March 14, 2010 10:15 pm

    Jana – Wow, that makes me so happy – I’m going to have to re-read this comment whenever I feel bogged down with blogging. I’m looking forward to seeing that seascape – and please say hi to your Mom for me!
    Vivien, the landscapes are various sizes – the first few were on paper, and now I’m using those canvas panels – I’m slowly upgrading as I recently found linen ones. I’m going to have to slowly upgrade the paints too, but for now the ones I’ve been using (marked ‘fine’ instead of ‘extra-fine’) aren’t too bad. I only use primaries and burnt umber, except once in a while a tad of cobalt blue or alizarin.

  13. March 15, 2010 8:17 am

    Magnifiques,tes paysages,ils sont parfaits,à mes yeux.Ca me donne envie de me remettre à l’huile,je n’arrive pas à cette fluidité avec l’acrylique,ça sèche trop vite…

  14. March 15, 2010 9:23 am

    Ce bord de mer est magnifique. Il y a beaucoup de mouvement au point que l’on y entend le vent et les vagues , enfin moi en tout cas !

  15. March 15, 2010 10:35 am

    Gorgeous work, Casey! You really DO have an affinity for oils—I thought this last year when you were making some studio paintings, but these lastest ones really prove the point! Your project is such a great idea!

  16. March 17, 2010 8:12 pm

    Your project is a great idea Casey and these landscapes are beautiful…seems you are enjoying the oils!
    Ronell

  17. March 21, 2010 8:12 pm

    Hi Casey! I love what you’ve been doing. No need to tell you once more I’m a big fan of your work. I love both of these though the first one, the person collencting sth on the beach is my favorite. it’s fantastic! Best wishes.

  18. Bill Sharp permalink
    March 22, 2010 11:14 pm

    These are fantastic, Casey. I love the juicy feel of the paint.

  19. March 31, 2010 1:13 pm

    Have a good Easter, both of you (and else) and come beack with all the new images for us to enjoy. Safe trip.

Trackbacks

  1. Update from the 100 Landscapes Project « edm superBlog2

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

