Skip to content

February Morning, Amboise

February 26, 2010

Landscape N° 5 in my hoped-for series of one hundred.  Originally posted on 100 Landscapes.

This probably isn’t technically a landscape, but that’s ok. Anything that’s not a still life or a portrait counts in my book.  Now that this is up here, I see the crooked chimneys and funny angles and am on my way to fix it.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 4:19 pm

    I love this one Casey. I like the sky, which seems to be a rising morning o maybe late evening, it triggers once imagination. Really a wonderful painting. is it oil? Take care, Martín.

  2. caseytoussaint permalink*
    February 26, 2010 4:32 pm

    Thank you Martin! My husband just said he prefers more color, so you made me feel better about it. Yes, this is in oil – my new project is to get better at this!

  3. February 26, 2010 5:34 pm

    Gee I looked at this and wondered why you were posting a photo!!
    Wonderful landscape.

  4. Gwendolyn permalink
    February 26, 2010 5:40 pm

    Sorry, Casey, I don’t see the problem… It looks mystical to me!

  5. February 26, 2010 6:03 pm

    that is definitely a landscape :>) and I love the subtle colours in it too – people forget to look up at rooftops

  6. February 26, 2010 6:42 pm

    If we want to be specific, we would call it a cityscape, which in turn is a subset of landscape. At least this is my understanding of it.

    Beautifully done! The slightly crooked chimney just adds charm.

  7. February 26, 2010 7:25 pm

    always good! Nice light.
    I become a fan of yours landscapes!

  8. February 26, 2010 8:01 pm

    I really really love this painting! It is so evocative and the light and color is just perfect. It feels like a peek out a window just as the sun is rising, and makes me think of all the joys of early morning, the quiet, the scent of coffee brewing, the solitude and a sense of all possibilities for the day.

    The fact that I got so much from such a simple painting just proves to me again that the best kind of painting allow the viewer to experience their own stories rather than ones where every detail is provided.

    I’m very tempted to try to join you in this landscape challenge, as I feel landscape is my weakest genre. One big question: are you working from photos and if so, are they your own? Do you plan to work en plein air as well?

    And more questions…. You set a 1 hour time limit for the paintings which seems so quick to get it drawn and painted. So are you strictly working alla prima with no underpainting and minimal drawing? This is such an interesting proposition…I’m really tempted to join you!

    Jana

  9. February 26, 2010 10:02 pm

    And one more question: How big or small are your canvases?

  10. caseytoussaint permalink*
    February 27, 2010 7:00 am

    Jana, the 1-hour time limit is sort of a goal – and I don’t think it’s ever going to happen. I just thought it would help me simplify and go more quickly for plein air painting later. I’ve actually been roughing in a sketch first with whatever color I use to tone the canvas, and then the rest is alla prima. The paper I was using is about A4 size (or slightly larger) and the cotton canvas I used yesterday was pretty tiny. I’m thinking about buying a pochade box, but I’m not sure which size to get. I was impressed by how nice the smaller paintings my friends in Hawaii had done look once framed and hung.
    I’m working from photos now – mostly not very good on their own, but I figure that’s good practice for plein air!

  11. February 27, 2010 9:32 pm

    Hi Casey,
    Very cool! I like your shapes and the small bit of warm against cool. Expressive!

  12. March 1, 2010 11:43 am

    Oh Casey I loooove this one! It’s got such a gorgeous atmosphere! It could be early morning or early evening, and these rooves and tree we can catch a glimpse of, just add to the whole mystery of the scene. It is definitely a landscape (or cityscape as Alex Zonis said)! I love the tones! Do you know what? It makes me think of Hopper’s landscapes! … now that’s a huge compliment, I’m a great fan of his paintings!

  13. March 1, 2010 10:36 pm

    Casey, this one is lovely. I’ve been out of it lately…burried in project work…but I’m crawling out from under my rock now!

  14. March 2, 2010 9:20 pm

    I love the light in this – late afternoon sun on a cold winter’s day. Beautiful.

  15. March 4, 2010 8:31 am

    J’adore,c’est magnifique!!!

  16. March 10, 2010 7:51 am

    J’aime beaucoup l’ambiance crépuscule de ce tableau et aussi le cadrage.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

