Skip to content

100 Landscapes

February 24, 2010

New blog : 100 Landscapes

Fired up with enthusiasm after my workshop experience (see below), I’ve decided to try to make my first 1000 mistakes in landscapes (and oils) as quickly as possible.  My plan is to paint 100 landscapes in as short a time as I can manage – in theory one every day, but there will obviously be days when it’s not possible to paint.  In order to be realistic about this, I’m not aiming too high in each painting.  I’m trying to keep painting time down to about an hour (not yet achieved), and I’ve started out using cheap oils and one of those pads of paper for oils and acrylics.  I think part of my inhibition with oil paints comes from the sheer cost of the materials.

The new blog started out as a private  place to park my paintings and (hopefully) chart my progress, but upon reflection I’d like to invite anyone with similar ambitions to join me in this – just contact me and I’ll add you to the blog.  You don’t have to feel obligated to produce 100 paintings if that sounds like too many.  I’d like this blog to be a place where criticism is constructive, but there is criticism.  I know that I won’t be doing a really good oil painting for a while, and my only goal right now is to get better at this.

So, how about it – anyone up for a challenge?   It’s ok if you’re not – stop by and criticize freely anyway!

Here’s Number 3 (only 97 to go!)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 3:24 pm

    Great idea Casey. I started doing a 100 painting challenge with Laure Ferlita and I am at painting #28. I can already see a difference in my watercolor paintings.

    I love this landscape!

  2. caseytoussaint permalink*
    February 24, 2010 3:44 pm

    Thanks, Teri – and congratulations at making it to number 28 – I hope I’ll be there in….25 days or so?

  3. February 24, 2010 5:37 pm

    lovely painting Casey!
    Your 100 landscape project sounds intriguing — I need to get back to my everyday art — If I can do landscapes with watercolor –I’ll sign up! — landscapes are something I’ve wanted to get some practice with. I totally agree with your assessment about the cost of the materials inhibiting your art.– I get hung up with that often.
    Thanks for suggesting this.

  4. February 24, 2010 5:56 pm

    How exciting! I have a similar goal to complete 100 paintings in oil this year. I have a little different perspective though in that I used to paint in oils all the time so it is like revisiting an old friend for me. I just wanted to see where 100 (small) paintings would take me. I will be interested to see where you go with these!

  5. February 24, 2010 9:22 pm

    Great, Casey! You must know that I’ll love watching this project unfold. Looking forward to each and every one…

  6. February 24, 2010 11:31 pm

    What a fantastic goal! And a great idea! I will follow your progress with great interest. #3 looks good with your signature blues and greens!

    I am not going to follow the suit at this time, I am in the process of teaching myself portraiture – this keeps me plenty busy. Best of luck to you in this adventure!

  7. February 25, 2010 4:01 am

    If this is only no. 3 – no 100 is going to be a masterpiece! I love it!

  8. February 25, 2010 11:40 am

    What a fantastic idea!!!! It’s sure is going to transform your art! But my… 100, that’s a lot!!!! I’m not sure I would be able to paint that many in a year… although the idea is veeeeery tempting! I love it when you say “I’ve decided to try to make my first 1000 mistakes in landscapes (and oils) as quickly as possible”😉
    I’m convinced forcing yourself to work quickly is a very good idea, but tell me, how big will be the canvases or papers?
    Gee, I would love to do it, really! I’m exactly like you, landscapes have never been my forte, but if I tried, then it means I would have to paint only landscapes, and that’s so frustrating!!!! and what with having only six months left before I go back to work…
    Anyway, I’ll follow your exciting project!

  9. Carol C. permalink
    February 27, 2010 3:04 am

    I love this idea!! Landscapes are what I’m most interested in and what I paint the least….what a good way to get over that stumbling block…..and I like your approach to oils, too. I tried them last year, had some good success at first and then not so much but didn’t know how to fix them so bagged it. However, I love the idea

  10. Carol C. permalink
    February 27, 2010 3:05 am

    …of using paper and cheaper supplies to try it out! (Sorry about the split comments!)

  11. March 4, 2010 8:30 am

    Super idée!!J’ai hâte de voir tes paysages!!ca me tenterais bien mais je n’ai hélas pas assez de temps,surtout à l’huile…
    Ton numéro 3 est superbe (en plus j’adore les arbres comme sujet…)

  12. March 10, 2010 1:32 pm

    I love the idea also and I was going to paint the same picture 100 times using different techniques in pastels. I now need to find the time to start that project! So glad to hear your trip was so successful.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

