Skip to content

Street View of Corsica

January 26, 2010

I’m leaving for Maui in a couple of days, and it seems like the perfect opportunity to use the sketchbook I made last year, and have never dared put a mark in. I’ll also be taking a plein-air oil painting workshop with Julie Houck, hoping to loosen up a bit in oils.  I have a tendency to be very tight when I oil paint.

In the meantime, I did another little painting based on a google streetview for Virtual Paintout.  This is from the very bottom tip of the island.  I used it to test out the colors I’ll be taking to Hawaii, and also to use the paper which I put in my sketchbook.  Gorgeous paper, which is what puts me off – I’m afraid to mess it up!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 6:32 pm

    Hi Casey,
    Have fun in Maui and at your workshop. Wonderful painting! I think the virtual paint out idea is cool. You do such a great job with watercolors, you should have fun with Maui!

  2. January 26, 2010 8:29 pm

    Casey–You definitely did NOT mess this one up! I love the colors and the freedom of the brushwork. I feel the same about sketch books. Then I saw one my seven year-old grand-daughter showed me where she’s creating a story and illustrating it. No fear there! Puts me to shame. Have a great time in Maui!

  3. January 26, 2010 9:30 pm

    Enjoy yourself in Maui! What a treat – I’m envious. As for the virgin paper, maybe you can save the front page (to use later as a title page of sorts), use the second page for fun – a tester page that turns up lots of juicy strokes and unexpected color delights, then settle in for a composition on the third. That might knock off the anxiety a bit. Looking forward to seeing what you show on return. Have fun!

  4. January 26, 2010 10:10 pm

    This is wonderful, Casey! You have such ease with watercolor… sigh… how do you do that?…

    Have fun in Maui, it is a perfect location for watercolors, your trademark blues and greens will get a fantastic use . Please post what you painted there when you come back.

  5. January 28, 2010 8:16 pm

    I’ve never even dared buy any gorgeous paper, because I know i would take it out and stroke it occasionally, then put it back without making a single mark! This painting is great, though, so I think you can safely get your brush out and do lots of painting on your trip. Enjoy!

  6. January 28, 2010 8:20 pm

    Hi Casey! It’s a great watercolour, you know I love everything you paint🙂 I’m doing a plain air course at a museum garden and I’m enjoying it very much. I’d like to work with oils but it’s a mess to travel back home with it while being fresh… so I’m working with other materials. hey, hope you have great fun in your trip & happy sketching! Hugs, Martín.

  7. January 29, 2010 12:50 am

    I love this painting Casey — especially the beautiful sky!
    Enjoy your plein aire workshop — it sounds wonderful — can’t wait to see your progress.

  8. February 2, 2010 3:13 am

    Have a fabulous time in Maui! Sounds idyllic. Your painting’s marvelous. What kind of paper is it you used in your book? Now you have me curious! Enjoy.

  9. February 5, 2010 7:17 am

    Have a wonderful time! You’re soooo lucky to go there!!!
    I like your sketch, it’s fresh, and quiet and relaxed!
    I know exactly what you mean by being scared to mess up a sketchbook or a nice paper!! It happens to me all the time! The only time I can relax is, unlike you, when I paint in acrylics on a canvas, because I know if I don’t like it, I can always cover it all up and change it.

  10. February 5, 2010 11:53 am

    Lovely watercolor, and beautiful colors.

Trackbacks

  1. Street View of Corsica « edm superBlog2

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

