Skip to content

Coloring my Drawings, Part 2

December 22, 2009

In my previous post I explained how I’ve been printing out drawings done in my life drawing group and adding watercolor.  I just don’t seem to be fast enough to complete a watercolor sketch in situ – although there are several artists in my group who do.  Well it’s so much fun that I did some more – and I’m learning to avoid the pitfalls of ink running, and losing the drawing altogether.  Here are a couple with the original drawing scan, and then the colored in version, as well as a few otheres that worked out alright.  I think the first one actually loses something when color is added, but I like the second one better in color.  What do you think?

This guy isn’t your typical beauty queen, but he was fun to draw.

And this is my favorite watercolor, although not necessarily my favorite drawing.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 1:44 pm

    They came out lovely! I never had the courage to paint people yet.

  2. December 22, 2009 2:22 pm

    Oh wow, the way you added color to the back of the girl in your last drawing…it’s breathtaking. It also shows your knowledge of the human form. I’d have no idea how to convey light and shadow like that.

  3. December 22, 2009 3:42 pm

    First – congratulations on your new blog theme! I love Vigilance, use it myself. I think it offers the cleanest look with maximum available screen space. Well chosen!

    I love your “colored” drawings to no end. I think you work color with gentleness and sensitivity. Even your run-backs seem to be serendipitously well placed. I can see how the drawing before the color becomes an empty outline once placed next to the colored version of itself. Color is seductive, but at the same time if the drawing were faulty, no color would make it right.

  4. December 22, 2009 4:57 pm

    Love the colours and the shadows. Merry Christmas for you.

  5. December 22, 2009 6:02 pm

    What a brilliant idea to print your life drawings and then add colour (I’ve ruined many a drawing trying to jazz it up later!) – I agree the second one works better with colour, and the last one is just beautiful.

  6. December 22, 2009 8:16 pm

    I actually LOVE what you did on the top one with the background and the body. What does not work for me is the yellow. But that’s just me.
    The bottom one is outstanding as well;
    So inspiring!

  7. December 23, 2009 9:29 pm

    I really like your series of these colored drawings; I think they’re coming out well. Have you seen Mel Stabin’s latest book on figure painting? There is a couple of pages in there that address painting the figure in watercolor quickly (as in one- and five-minute poses) in a life-drawing session. I plan on trying Stabin’s technique when my life drawing group starts up again after the new year. Keep up the great work! — Steve

  8. December 24, 2009 3:19 am

    I love the one you left for last the best, too. Although I liked the first drawing as soon as I saw it. Anyway, the composition of the last is excellent and the finished product makes it look like a fab drawing. Isn’t it?

  9. Malelaa permalink
    December 24, 2009 10:30 am

    Magnifiques tous ces nus mis en couleurs!!!Bravo,il faudra que j’essaie un jour…
    Joyeuses fêtes à toi!!!

  10. December 25, 2009 1:46 pm

    Hi Casey –
    Happy Holidays to you and your family.
    These drawing and colored options are wonderful. I think it’s great to print out the drawings and experiment – lovely options we have these days.

  11. December 26, 2009 4:04 am

    Hi Casey, Happy holidays to you and your family! These pieces are inspiring! I like the drawings and the watercolor added. The last piece is special. So wonderful you are consistent with your life drawing!

  12. December 27, 2009 4:12 pm

    That’s a very clever technique, Casey. I too like that first sketch as it was – it’s a great sketch, but the watercolour is a lovely addition to the others – and you still have the originals anyway. I try not to be too envious of your life sketching group and just enjoy your achievements.

  13. judybecklobos permalink
    December 30, 2009 12:58 am

    Love these so much Casey! How wonderful that you can print them out and try color… sounds extremely relaxing.

  14. December 31, 2009 2:39 pm

    lovely addition of color. especially fond of color choices on shadows for last figure.

Trackbacks

  1. Coloring my Drawings, Part 2 « edm superBlog2

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

