Skip to content

Imaginary Geography

December 9, 2009

This is my entry in Encre’s sketchbook for the carnets baladeurs. Her theme is ‘géographies imaginaires‘ It was fun to do, and took my mind off a very large oil painting that’s not going well at all.  I’ve been sorely neglecting my blog and everyone else’s blogs too lately. I hope that my friends will forgive me for drifting off the radar screen like this.  I’m not sure what’s up, but am hoping to get back to normal soon.  In the mean time I’ve been trying valiantly to oil paint, but mostly slip-sliding into mud.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 3:31 pm

    Beautiful deep colors as always!

    Re the oil painting – hang in there – as you know, every painting goes through that adolescent period when it is gangly and has pimples, but then it comes through the other end, beautiful and mature. (This is the hope).

    And, by the way, I can relate..and I haven’t posted either in more than a week, and my efforts of late have been, well, efforts.

  2. December 9, 2009 6:52 pm

    This is fun! Thanks for posting it. Here’s is today’s quote from my friend, Dawn’s, blog http://vulturecafe.blogspot.com. “Tension is who you think you should be.
    Relaxation is who you are.” ~Chinese proverb I hope that assuages any concerns about posting, visiting and not posting or visiting. PS You could always turn the large oil to the wall and work on something else for a while. i find this approach is often very helpful!

  3. December 10, 2009 3:23 pm

    Great idea! We’ll wait for you and your sketches.

  4. December 10, 2009 4:39 pm

    Thanks so much for the comments! Dan – I think you may be right, I just have to wait a bit for the painting to grow up. It already looked s bit better this morning…
    Suzanne – I’m going to print out that quote and post it in my studio! Brilliant!

  5. December 10, 2009 5:19 pm

    I really like looking out of the dark cave to the light landscape. Can’t wait to see the oil painting.

  6. December 11, 2009 5:14 am

    Hi Casey, I love your painterly lines; they add a nice loose rhythm to your work. Neat texture too! I feel like I’ve been to this place, looking at an ancient landscape! Cool!

  7. giocka permalink
    December 13, 2009 1:15 pm

    J’adore! Tes couleurs sont toujours tellement fortes et riches!

  8. annie permalink
    December 15, 2009 5:48 pm

    I always love the way you use your color, Casey.

    And Suzanne, thank you for Dawn’s quote. I want to print it out, too, and hang it on my bulletin board.

    annie

  9. December 15, 2009 7:39 pm

    So naturally real!

  10. csgebhart permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:55 pm

    What fun – I especially love the first one.

  11. December 22, 2009 1:39 pm

    I love your watercolors and about oil painting I feel the same way you do. I might give it another shot or 2 but only on smaller canvas.

  12. December 26, 2009 1:22 pm

    Is that a gorgeous sketch from our Port de Coton trip??? I love what you’re doing—the direction you’re going is rich and varied and not easy, but it’s the only one worth taking.
    Belated happy Christmas to you and your lovely ones.
    Bises,
    L

  13. December 26, 2009 1:25 pm

    Oh, duh—it’s ‘imaginary geography!’ That’s why it did and didn’t look like Port de Coton!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

