Skip to content

Carnets Baladeurs – Yoyo’s Book

November 12, 2009

 

The theme of this book from the Carnets Baladeurs sketchbook exchange is  D’une Mer à l’Autre, (From one Sea to Another).  As I don’t live near a sea, just a river, I decided to use a photo from a trip we took to Etretat, in Normandy, last June as a basis for my drawing.  Normandy has pretty lousy weather, generally, but when the sun comes out there is no place more beautiful.  I never understood impressionist painting, really, until I lived there and experienced that glorious light. During our visit, we were incredibly spoiled – an entire weekend of perfect weather.

My father in law spent the last months of World War II in Etretat as a translator for the American Army, after having lost many family members because a bomb was dropped on his parents house.  I lived in the reconstruction of that house for 12 years, and we often went to Etretat when our children were small and scrambled over the cliffs, so this landscape is very familiar to me.

The Carnets Baladeurs sketchbook exchange is a group of generous and talented French speaking artists – it’s open to anyone who wants to join and you can do as much or as little as you like.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 2:51 pm

    Hi Casey, Wonderful paintings of Normandy; it’s neat to see how much you can describe of the landscape with just simple lines and squiggles. I enjoyed reading about your personal connections to the place.

  2. November 12, 2009 3:08 pm

    Magnifique vue d’Etretat qui change des clichés habituels!
    Merci Casey! Je vais récupérer un splendide carnet!

  3. November 12, 2009 5:49 pm

    Beautiful sketches, Casey – particularly that second one. It’s such a treat watching your style evolve. This is a lovely post that paints a touching picture of your husband’s family too.

    I do like your use of stamps too. I’d like some stamps myself.

  4. November 12, 2009 6:09 pm

    These are lovely, Casey. The blue of the ocean is spectacular.

  5. November 12, 2009 11:59 pm

    I always love the brilliance of your colors and the shape of your marks – also any scene of the sea. Thanks for the personal story – and what a story! For your children to be able to live in the reconstruction of that house for twelve years is an incredible touchstone of family history.

    I spent quite a bit of time in Eindhoven, Holland and once stumbled upon a walled cemetery with a free standing wall that had names of family after family, all with different birth dates, all with the same death dates. I later learned that Eindhoven took a terrible hit in the fiasco of allied bombing described in A Bridge Too Far, and what I’d come across was a memorial to some of the victims. Difficult to comprehend from my experience but good to be aware of.

  6. November 13, 2009 11:38 am

    This is simply beautiful, Casey!! It’s so radiant with light!! What did you use? Pastel? watercolour? or mixed media? Your colours are gorgeous!

  7. November 13, 2009 3:13 pm

    J’adore !… Yoyo a raison, c’est un superbe carnet !…

  8. November 13, 2009 3:34 pm

    Your movement here looks so loose and confident, almost as if you’re retracing the place from your memories of it onto the page–these are lovely, Casey.

  9. Debbie von Tempsky permalink
    November 13, 2009 6:25 pm

    Casey, I love to tell stories and each painting has a story. Your paintings are true to your story. Wonderful job!

  10. November 15, 2009 11:12 am

    Beautiful Casey – haven’t stopped by for awhile, it’s been busy! hope all is well

  11. danscanvas permalink
    November 16, 2009 2:17 am

    As always, I love your colors and lines.

  12. November 16, 2009 4:29 am

    Thank you for the very kind note on my site. Your work is great. I do a lot of photography, and my brother works in pastels. I will show him your work. You have an incredibly interesting background!

  13. November 16, 2009 4:48 pm

    oh just wonderful!!!! makes me want to do an exchange someday! hope you are well!!!

  14. November 17, 2009 5:22 pm

    I looked at these lovely paintings earlier in the week, but was rushing too much to comment – I really love the coastal scene, how great that you had good weather while you were there – it looks idyllic. The Etretat story and sketch are very poignant – my dad spent part of WWII in the Mediterranean (island of Cos) as a pilot – I’d so love to go and see and get a feel of the place.

  15. danscanvas permalink
    November 21, 2009 2:53 am

    If you have room for another award (I see you got one recently – whoops!), on my blog I have presented you with the Over the Top! Award in my November 17th Post. Because I love your work.

  16. November 23, 2009 4:42 pm

    i really enjoy your painting, j’aime l’ambiance et le mélange français anglais, j’habite à la reunion, avec de le mer partout , au milieu de nulle part

  17. November 24, 2009 11:04 pm

    I thought I commented on these lovely sketches-maybe it was on Flickr- anyway they’re beautiful!

  18. November 27, 2009 7:01 pm

    Beautifull colours and I could imediatly see what it was. I love Amboise as other French Loires’ castles.

  19. annie permalink
    November 27, 2009 9:31 pm

    I am late to get to this, Casey, but enjoying it just the same. I agree with Cathy G and everyone else about the sketches and Etretat story–so beautiful and poignant.
    annie

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

