Skip to content

Stroke of the Brush Award

November 5, 2009

brush award

Way back in August, Steve Penberthy left a comment saying he’d awarded me the Stroke of the Brush Award.( Check out Steve’s blog, he’s having an exhibition soon, and he does wonderful work) I was extremely flattered, but it was a crazy time for me, and, as these things take time, I am only now getting around to it.  The rules are to state seven little-known facts about myself and to nominate seven other blogs.

1.  Although I am American and live in France, I was actually born in Kenya.  My husband is French but was born in Ghana.  My children are French, but two of them studied in Ireland and all carry American passports.  It’s always fun filling out official papers in our house!

Alors que je suis américaine et j’habile en France, je suis née au Kenya.  Mon mari est français, mais il est né au Ghana. Mes enfants sont français, mais deux d’entre eux ont fait leurs études en Ireland, et ils ont tous les trois des passeports français.  C’est une vrai joie de remplir des papier officiels chez nous!

2. I have a cat who is obsessed with water.  His favorite thing to do is watch us shower in the morning, after which he goes in and lets the shower head drip on him.

J’ai un chat qui est obsédé par l’eau.  Le matin, il adore nous regarder pendant la douche, et après il rentre dans la douche pour profiter des gouttes qui tombent.

3. I resisted joing facebook for a long time, but I finally gave in last weeK

J’ai résisté facebook pendant longtemps, mais j’ai craqué la semaine dernière.

4. I gave up eating sugar in all forms about 2 years ago, and have been driving my friends crazy ever since. (I feel great though)

J’ai arreté de manger toutes formes de sucre il y a deux ans, et cela embête beaucoup mes amis qui veulent m’inviter- moi je vais bien pourtant!

5. I have a tendency to let myself be exploited.  I’m working on that.

J’ai tendance à me faire exploiter, mais j’y travaille.

6. I love the contacts I’ve made on internet, but sometimes I find it difficult to keep up, and I regret this.

J’adore mes amis internautes mais parfois j’ai du mal à garder le contact,  à mon regret.

7. I would not miss the seasons if I lived in a tropical climate!

Les saisons ne me manqueraient pas du tout si j’habitais un climat tropical.

 

 

 

I have picked 7 artists from a sketchbook exchange I’m involved with, les carnets baladeurs, which is mostly French speakers. Check out their work, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

1.Isabelle Zyskind, who seems to have invented the technique of embedding a bit of photograph into a watercolor. They are amazing.  She recently did a tutorial on the subject.

2. Cathy Giordana-Bricka, who is French, but lives in South Africa, and beautifully captures that country in watercolor.

3. Josée Prudh’homme, in Quebec for her boldly colorful watercolors

4. Nathalie Boyaval– who does gorgeous ink and wash work, as well as other media.

5. Bibi does masterful drawings and paintings from her home in one of my favorite parts of France.

6. Yoyo – an incredibly productive and talented painter from the South of France, who has been soo encouraging to all of us at Les Carnets Baladeurs.

7. Malela does joyful watercolors from her home in Switzerland

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2009 7:49 pm

    Merci merci ! Je vais donc essayer de poster sur mon blog 7 trucs sur moi… et 7 autres liens mais ne m’en veut pas s’il n’y en a pas 7, car je n’aime pas trop forcer la main à d’autres pour continuer la chaîne.

  2. Nath permalink
    November 6, 2009 9:07 am

    Merci Casey ! Si je trouve le temps – et l’inspiration – j’y participerai !

  3. November 8, 2009 3:41 pm

    Merci Casey ! Je tâche de répondre honnêtement à cet award !…

  4. benedictedelachanal permalink
    November 9, 2009 4:24 pm

    Je pense aussi que les saisons ne me manqueraient pas du tout mais on ne sait jamais! J’ai beaucoup aimé les aquarelles de Bretagne.

  5. November 13, 2009 7:27 am

    I enjoyed reading this. I have a goofy water cat too. She sits on the john while I shower and while I’m drying off inside she bats at the shower curtain and I bat back, playing with her. Then she wants to drink out of the bathtub tap so run it for her with a small stream.

  6. November 13, 2009 11:45 am

    Merci Casey!! Je ne sais pas si j’arriverai à dire 7 choses intéressantes sur moi… je vais y réfléchir… En tous les cas, nous réunir tous autour de ce prix, c’est une super idée!!!

  7. November 16, 2009 8:16 pm

    Ouf !… Ça y est, j’ai répondu !!!

  8. November 23, 2009 4:40 pm

    je suis interessée pour participer, comment faut il faire, merci pour votre page, j’adore l’ambiance de vos dessins

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

