Skip to content

Brittany Sketches, Part 2

November 3, 2009

I’ve been a pretty intermittent blogger lately, because life has been getting in the way. A few weeks ago, I posted about my trip to Brittany with Laura – she’s already up to her fifth post of beautiful sketches ! So here are a few from my moleskine that hadn’t yet made it into a post.  I have other sketchbooks that haven’t even been scanned yet, but I’ll leave that until another day.

As you can see,  when in the field I work quickly, with waterbrushes, a small watercolor set and a Pilot V-ball, and I rarely touch them after.

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Malelaa permalink
    November 3, 2009 1:06 pm

    Tres belle série de croquis!!!

  2. November 3, 2009 1:51 pm

    I love these! So loose and flow-y (is that a word?). The blue door is especially moody – very nice.

    Alex

  3. November 3, 2009 2:13 pm

    I like the freshness and vibrancy of your work; they’re great as they are!

  4. November 3, 2009 2:31 pm

    Could really fell the atmosphere of Britanny one of my favourite French regions. Perros Guirec is faboulous particularly La Côte de Granit Rose. Great work!

  5. November 3, 2009 3:07 pm

    I love these sketches. Your lines are strong, flowing, elegant, and the colors intense and spontaneous!

  6. anntnem permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:13 pm

    These sketches are gorgeous! I love the rich color and expressive line.

  7. November 3, 2009 7:53 pm

    Beautiful, Casey! I love the freedom and spontaneity!

  8. danscanvas permalink
    November 4, 2009 2:29 am

    Your sketches take me away. I love your style, as always. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! One question – I used the Pilot Precise V5 before I ever did watercolor – love its line – but then stopped because it is not waterproof. I looked online and see that the Pilot VBall is a different pen – is it waterproof or do you ink after?

  9. caseytoussaint permalink*
    November 4, 2009 9:25 am

    Hi – thanks for your comments everyone.
    Dan, I use the v-ball 007 which is a bit thicker. It’s not waterproof, and sometimes I use that to make shadows. ILately, though I’ve been using it on top, and it runs a lot less, or not at all.

  10. November 4, 2009 5:26 pm

    superbes couleurs, et joli travail !

  11. November 5, 2009 6:08 am

    Wonderful!!! I think my favorites are the one that says “1868” and the church with the very tall steeple. Your sketches always delight!

  12. November 5, 2009 10:08 am

    It’s been such a pleasure to visit Brittany through your and Laura’s sketches – I love your loose lines and washes that say sunshine and holiday!

  13. November 6, 2009 4:42 pm

    I enjoyed seeing your travel sketches of Brittany. They are great!!! I love the vibrant colors you use and your lines. I had been looking at Laura’s blog and had to see your take on Brittany. I will come back again to see your work.

  14. November 10, 2009 7:03 am

    Hi Casey, I’ve been away too long! I really do love the freshness of these sketches. You’ve got such an eye for composition. I love that flash of red on the bathing suit which just brings the whole landscape to life. What type of watercolours do you use? Pan or tube? Artists’ quality? The colours seem really vibrant.

Trackbacks

  1. Brittany Sketches, Part 2 « edm superBlog2

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

