Skip to content

Vacation sketches

August 31, 2009

I haven’t been posting on this blog much lately, as the weather has been gorgeous, my children were all around and even my Mom was here for a couple of weeks. Today, my daughter is traveling back to California, my Mom is safely home in New Jersey, and the boys are busy with starting studies or getting organized to do so. So I guess it’s time to get back into the routine.

It seems like such a long time since we returned from our trip to the South – I already feel nostalgic when looking at these sketches.  We were in a wonderful place called Milhars, in the Tarn region of France. The whole area is so beautiful – you wonder why so many people choose to go to Provence instead!

I’m going to quickly post a couple of sketchesof the place we stayed, and save the others for another day.  Today is gorgeous and sunny here in Touraine, with a subtle undercurrent of ‘back-to-school”.  This is my favorite time of year – and tomorrow the temperature is going to drop by 10 degrees (Centigrade!) and get cloudy for a while. So I think I need to go outside!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 1:55 pm

    Fabulous sketches, Casey. Love the sleeping cat!

  2. August 31, 2009 2:15 pm

    Love them all – as usual – but the kitty cat rules!

  3. August 31, 2009 4:10 pm

    These are wonderful! It is so difficult for me to render stone buildings. But you did it beautifully, with a suggestion of the stones… and your sunny colors ! I love them !

  4. August 31, 2009 4:24 pm

    Beautiful. I also specially love the sleeping cat.

  5. August 31, 2009 4:42 pm

    Bueautiful images. I’m starting to want visiting Mihars. This hollydays sketches are memmories for the whole working year. I am just coming back to office and will post some sketches soon.

  6. lorigarcia48 permalink
    August 31, 2009 5:52 pm

    You’ve really caught the beauty of this place in your sketches.

  7. August 31, 2009 6:21 pm

    These sketches have an effect on me similar to some jewelry – I inexplicbly want to eat them. Must be the delicious colors.

  8. August 31, 2009 7:44 pm

    Tu as raison, cette région est magnifique… et différente de la Provence… sans parti pris! il faut aussi sortir des lieux trop touristiques de la Provence: arrière-pays, Comtat Venaissain…

  9. benedictedelachanal permalink
    August 31, 2009 9:23 pm

    Belles aquarelles pour de beaux souvenirs d’une belle région. Mais chut! pas trop de publicité,
    let’s keep it this way.

  10. August 31, 2009 9:47 pm

    Hi Casey….great sketches. I love the way you’ve captured the bricks and tiles of buildings. Beautiful, clear colors! Is Mittens happy that you are back??

  11. August 31, 2009 11:29 pm

    Casey,
    You make me want to be there – enjoying the sun, fresh fruits and vegetables, wine, bread….
    Shirley

  12. September 1, 2009 2:36 am

    Hi Casey, Glad you’re back, though I think lots of bloggers are like you, taking time for family and to enjoy the sun.

    These are wonderful sketches. The gesture of the cat is great!

  13. annie permalink
    September 1, 2009 2:42 am

    I’m a little late to say welcome home, Casey, but welcome home! I do love the way you fill in your loose lines with colors that build form. As nostalgic as these sketches make you feel– and they make me long for those Milhars stone buildings and greenery, too– it must feel good to be home in your garden. How did the garden survive with you gone? When do the gardens get put to bed in Touraine?
    annie

  14. September 1, 2009 8:00 am

    The sun shines right off the screen in these happy pics. I was trying to work in the studio today and the weather was so beautiful I had to just go out and walk. Of course that means I’ve stayed up way too late to finish the work I wanted to get done in the studio today. At least I got to do both, enjoy the sun and the studio. But tomorrow I will pay for the pleasure and lack of sleep, I’m sure.

  15. September 1, 2009 12:03 pm

    Casey, thanks for visiting my blog and commenting and helping me find yours. Your sketches are wonderful. I will enjoy keeping up with your work.

  16. Nath permalink
    September 1, 2009 4:24 pm

    Très jolie série de croquis gorgés de soleil !

  17. isabelle permalink
    September 2, 2009 12:57 pm

    Hello!
    love your sketches.
    I can see and feel, looking at them, you had a beautiful summer, like most of us in this part of Europe: It was so sunny and warm!
    Are the kids OK? what are tey doing now and where are they living?
    love
    isa

  18. September 4, 2009 7:35 pm

    a gentle reminder that summer is almost over. These are lovely Casey.

  19. September 5, 2009 12:43 pm

    oh yeah – the cat truly rules! gorgeous paintings all, but that one is very special.

  20. September 5, 2009 4:44 pm

    These are all delightful, Casey! I feel as if you’ve taken me along, and I’ve gone on vacation, too. I’ll have to read about Milhars–it sounds lovely.

Trackbacks

  1. Vacation sketches « edm superBlog2

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

