Skip to content

Back from vacation, sort of…

August 17, 2009

I’ve been back from the South of France for a little over a week now, but haven’t had 10 minutes to sit down in front of my computer to catch up. First of all, we came home to find that some carpentry work we’d been waiting for had been completed  (and beautifully, I might say), but as I’m the family painter, I had to get it to match the rest of the woodwork that I’d done 10 years ago, so it took me a few false starts and lots of sanding back. Here’s the result:

P1030366

On top of that, my mom and my daughter are around (as well as one of my sons, who is now living a short distance away), and we’re spending lots of time catching up, eating great French food, and drinking local wines.  It’s very hot right now too. This morning I finally thought I’d sit down to work on the blog when Claire called to say she’d heard some disturbance at the neighbor’s.  We went over to see and it turns out he’d fallen from a ladder.  So we minded the bed and breakfast until they came back from the hospital, mid afternoon.

Anyway, here are some portraits done of my fellow vacationers, mostly around the pool at the house we rented together. Everyone wanted to draw this summer, so one person would model and we’d all draw.

Tomorrow I’ll post a bit about the amazing region we visited….

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    August 17, 2009 6:50 pm

    What fun to be with a family of artists. Everyone drawing. Such a life.

  2. August 17, 2009 11:02 pm

    Fabulous sketches… I too think it’s great that you have a family that draws together… great models too.

  3. danscanvas permalink
    August 17, 2009 11:51 pm

    I echo Lisa at Greenbow. Sigh. Anyway, I just love your work. The sketches, the color, wet-on-wet effects. I think these are probably fairly small drawings, yet you managed to place some pretty interesting facial expressions on the first two as well.

  4. August 18, 2009 4:19 am

    Beautiful carpentry! The drawings are great! I love what you can do with a puddle of watercolor!

  5. August 18, 2009 12:20 pm

    Casey,
    These are all WONDERFUL! I can’t even select a favorite – the watercolor, or the pencil or combo. How did you get the whole group interested in sketching?
    Shirley

  6. sandy permalink
    August 18, 2009 2:04 pm

    Oh Casey – Welcome home,
    You draw the human figure so beautifully with your washy effects, I find them facinating and oh how I wish I could do such work (I know – just jump in and try and try and try) thanks for all the kind supportive comments on my blog and I look forward to your accounts of the vacation too!

  7. August 19, 2009 9:02 am

    Casey – You are a wonderful example of the value of life drawing classes. These are stunning studies. Beautiful!!!! What fun to be holidaying with others who want to sketch. Blissful.

    Beautiful decorating of the new cupboard also!

    I’m looking forward to hearing more about it your holiday.

  8. August 19, 2009 12:51 pm

    amazing sketches you have here!!! Bravo!

  9. anntnem permalink
    August 19, 2009 1:59 pm

    These are all fantastic sketches. How wonderful that you all wanted to draw making for such a great experience!

  10. August 21, 2009 1:10 am

    Oh, I love all of these, and your color choices are wonderful here. Sounds like a wonderful vacation! And your wood work looks great!

  11. August 21, 2009 7:05 pm

    These are wonderful, lively and spontaneous… lovely.. and yes, what fun to sketch with your folks..

  12. August 21, 2009 8:06 pm

    What a wonderfull collection!

  13. August 22, 2009 3:58 pm

    BEAUTIFUL paintings, Casey. I won’t repeat what all the other commenters have said, but they’re all right!

  14. August 25, 2009 9:26 am

    Wow! Those figures are fantastic.

  15. August 25, 2009 8:21 pm

    Quel talent!
    ça me donne envie de m’y remettre sérieusement, mais…

  16. August 25, 2009 9:27 pm

    J’aime, j’aime, j’aime tes aquarelles!!!! La touche est pleine d’intelligence, les couleurs sont fascinantes.

  17. August 26, 2009 11:49 am

    Ecellent ! j’aime beaucoup la fille sur la chaise, la transparence de tes touches…

  18. malelaa permalink
    August 26, 2009 1:38 pm

    Wow!!!J’aime ,que dis,j’adore ces croquis de personnages!!

Trackbacks

  1. Back from vacation, sort of… « edm superBlog2

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

