Skip to content

Sunday Morning at the Amboise Market

July 20, 2009

A very important part of our weekend routine is going to the open-air here in Amboise on Sunday morning.  It’s a huge open-air market, which is fairly well-known in France.  The crowds are huge.  Both sellers and customers come from miles away, and in summer there are hoards of tourists as well.  We are lucky enough to be able to go on foot, as I’m not sure I’d have the determination to show up every week if I had to park my car first.

I’m very excited about a new project with a friend based on markets in France.  It’s a bit early to say much about it, but, for now, I’ll share some sketches from yesterday.

The market grounds are right next to the Loire, with gorgeous old plane trees providing shade on hot summer mornings.

We don’t have a regular fish market in town, and we are in the center of France, away from the coast, so most people try to remember to eat fish on market days (Friday and Sunday) when it’s trucked in fresh from Brittany. We had grilled salmon ourselves yesterday…

I don’t really eat bread anymore, but if I did, I’d buy it from this guy, who uses organic flour and bakes according to traditional methods, using levain, or sourdough, instead of modern quick-rising yeast.

How was your Sunday?

On another topic, be sure to check out Diahn Ott’s giveaway contest.  She’s giving a way a third gorgeous bird painting if you leave a comment between July 24 and 26 – have a look, and you’ll want to win!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 12:47 pm

    Rich and lush work – love the market sketch (but all). It feels like you’ve made a leap in value or saturation or something – whatever – the results are gorgeous. Thanks for the tip on the Ott blog but deadline was 19th (shop opens on 31st). Lots of love…

  2. July 20, 2009 1:15 pm

    What colorful, vibrant market paintings. I was just remarking yesterday about how delicious the peaches, plums and tomatoes from a local farmer’s market we had were. Ahhhh, summer–and your wonderful paintings capture all that.

  3. July 20, 2009 1:27 pm

    Wonderful sketches, as always Casey–I love the colors you use – so rich and sun-filled.

    And thanks for the link to my blog! There will be one more painting to giveaway starting this coming Friday (the 24th) with entries taken through Sunday the 26th. Then, my shop opens on the 31st!

  4. July 20, 2009 1:39 pm

    Hi Casey, I think your market project idea is wonderful; I look forward to seeing what you do. I find your work inspiring; its so direct and lyrical!

  5. July 20, 2009 2:26 pm

    thanks for the comment!
    these are gorgeous, I’m too embarrassed to sketch in public I should try and get over it really… what watercolors do you use if you don’t mind me asking?

    • caseytoussaint permalink*
      July 22, 2009 10:38 am

      These were actually done from photos – the market is just too crowded to sit down and paint. I used a large set of winsor and newton half-pans for this – lots of yellow ochre and burnt sienna especially.

  6. July 20, 2009 4:57 pm

    Hello! I just found your blog through Suzanne’s house tour. And i had to post a comment because your style in wonderful. Truly gorgeous! Thank you for sharing.

  7. anntnem permalink
    July 20, 2009 6:49 pm

    I am so enjoying your work here! These sketches are no exception – so lovely and vibrant!

  8. July 20, 2009 7:01 pm

    FABULOUS paintings Casey! I feel like I am there.

  9. July 21, 2009 1:44 am

    Looks like a fun market — can’t wait to hear more about our project.
    I so admire the way you use color Casey!

  10. July 21, 2009 6:29 am

    Bonjuor Casey!
    mais… tu es en France! Je découvre avec joie et .. gourmandise ton blog. Beaucoup de talent, bravo! Tes couleurs sont superbes et les croquis un régal pour les yeux. Merci et continue!

  11. July 21, 2009 10:23 am

    Hi Casey – Found your blog via Suzanne Cabrera’s house tour. I love these market drawings, as they instantly bring back fond thoughts of French markets and how they are visual gastronomy, even in smaller villages. Jaunts to the markets were one of my favorite, favorite pastimes while I was living in the Hérault for nearly a year. Thanks for the trip down memory lane and the lovely drawings!

  12. danscanvas permalink
    July 22, 2009 1:00 am

    You show me just how much further I need to go on these group drawings. Just beautiful. I love the interesting and varied way you apply the colors on the clothing, etc.

  13. caseytoussaint permalink*
    July 22, 2009 10:31 am

    Thanks for stopping by everyone, comments really help me to stay motivated!
    Diahn – I’ve updated the info, sorry for not reading your post carefully enough!

  14. July 22, 2009 4:11 pm

    Brava, Casey. These are indeed beautiful and the colours you are achieving are inspiring. I’m quite relieved to hear you were aided by photos because I’d find it impossible to sketch in the middle of a big French or Italian market.

    So I guess we have to wait to find out about your market project.

  15. Sandy permalink
    July 22, 2009 7:36 pm

    Gorgeous Casey, the atmosphere is so authentic – almost like being there!

  16. July 23, 2009 2:15 pm

    Quelles belles ambiances de marché!!!Tres vivant!

  17. July 23, 2009 3:10 pm

    Since walking as far to the front door right now is a chore; I ponder then reconsider if I really need to walk that far; walking through your open air market was a delight this morning! Your beautiful sketches bring smiles thousands of miles away. What a thoughtful friend you are!

  18. August 3, 2009 7:00 am

    Vraiment de belles pages ces scènes de marché.

  19. August 7, 2009 1:53 am

    These are without a doubt some of your very best sketches in terms of composition, color, and illustrative qualities. Your new project sounds quite intriguing!

  20. Nath permalink
    August 26, 2009 2:21 pm

    Je découvre ces croquis ; vivants et colorés comme j’aime !

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Morning at the Amboise Market « edm superBlog2

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

