Skip to content

Still Life with Lace

July 10, 2009

I finally finished this painting which has been sitting on my easel for weeks.  I started it to get back into oil painting after my trip to San Francisco.  From the start, things didn’t go well – the canvas is too small, the setup is too fussy for my taste, the lace background way too difficult, and then we had a heat wave, which turned my studio into a furnace, and I sprained my ankle, so I was trying to paint with my foot propped up.  I had a really difficult showing depth, because of the way the light reflected on the lace background.  It had a sort of illuminated ‘holy card’ look for a while, which I really disliked, but I toned down the background, but couldn’t get it in balance – and so it sat and dried.  Finally, yesterday, I decided to submit it to Nel, who is teaching an online oil painting class, for comments – and she nailed it right away. Add a shadow.  Simple as that.  It’s amazing what we don’t see in our own work sometimes.

This is the third version – the first two are on Flickr, if you want to see Nel’s comments.

P1020972

Still not my favorite painting, but it was excellent practice. Now I have to go clean all of that dried paint off my palette…..

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 6:34 pm

    Practice makes perfect! although I like it very much.

  2. sandy permalink
    July 10, 2009 7:47 pm

    Fabulous Casey, it is watery and wistful and dreamy – I could gaze at this all day – now I will have to check out the other versions!

  3. July 11, 2009 12:01 pm

    This is quiet beautiful and I love the reflected light prisms on the cloth below the bowl. Lovely colors too. Let’s hear it for our return to oils!

  4. July 12, 2009 12:09 am

    Hi Casey, I like your division of the picture plane and I particularly like the softness of the edges. It’s luscious!

  5. July 12, 2009 9:48 pm

    Wow, that really DID work! Lots of yummy paint application here, too!

  6. July 13, 2009 1:50 am

    This is beautiful, Casey. I really think your oil work is stunning–I love it. It always fascinates me how different someone’s oil style can be from their watercolors, and I don’t always like both, but I love both of yours.

  7. July 14, 2009 5:38 am

    That was exactly what it needed. You have such a special and unique style that is just your own. It carries across both your painting and sketching — clearly done by the same talented person! There’s a wonderful glow and mysteriousness about this painting. It leaves me wondering about the story, and also a sense of loneliness, the way the two items are there together with space around them. They almost seem to be expressing sadness at having been abandoned for so long. All that means the painting really works to me — when I get feelings and stories from looking. So much better and more interesting than just a pretty picture.

  8. July 18, 2009 1:39 pm

    Wonderful glow about the blue bottle, Casey and I love the subtle degrees of light on the whites. Jana is right – this picture has a great deal of mood.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

