Skip to content

Catching up with Life Drawing

July 7, 2009

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blogg/828743/rue-manuel-bis?claim=bzzfcn8qusr”>Follow my blog with bloglovin</a>

I’ve just uploaded a slew of life drawings to my Flickr account, if you like that sort of thing.

What struck me, looking back through several months worth of work, is how different my drawings are from one week to the next.  Some sessions I just can’t get it together, and sometimes I do alright – and the style tends to vary according to the model, the medium I happen to be using and my mood. Sometimes the first, 2 minute poses work best, sometimes it’s the longer, 7- to 10-minute poses.

Here are some samples :

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 3:18 pm

    Beautiful life drawings…love the one in the chari!
    ronell

  2. July 7, 2009 8:34 pm

    Great work!

  3. July 7, 2009 9:22 pm

    J’adore…

  4. July 8, 2009 12:30 am

    These are wonderful, Casey. I always enjoy your art, and these are beautiful.

  5. July 8, 2009 1:07 am

    These are beautiful. I looked at your flickr drawings too. Even in your quick drawings you seem to get all the proportions and shapes right. You have a great eye.

  6. July 8, 2009 10:16 pm

    It proves you achieve in different medias.

  7. July 9, 2009 2:07 pm

    Hi Casey, I like the drawings; they look pretty consistent to me. You achieve a wonderful, fluid line. Are you seeing your personal reaction to the model, your state of being, and the medium?

  8. July 9, 2009 5:24 pm

    They are so very different, aren’t they? It is funny how we can feel very differently about drawing on different days – sometimes it flows easily, other times it comes out staccato.

    I think both of the blue and orange ones are my favourites of this batch – the easy poses, flowing lines and lively marks on the seemingly casual application of colour. Confident, quick and beautifully observed.

  9. July 13, 2009 2:00 pm

    Wow, you’re right…such amazing variety. I REALLY enjoy the 4th and 5th ones. This is how I want to be able to draw. Just like this.

  10. July 15, 2009 2:57 pm

    i love all of them! they are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

