Skip to content

Sunday Morning in July

July 5, 2009

We’re having a heat wave here in France.  Early mornings here in Amboise are delightful – the sun is already shining at 7, promising another burning hot day, but there is still a coolness left over from the night.  Almost no traffic, sounds of neighbors opening their shutters, walking the dog or going to market, “bonjour,, vous allez bien?” “il va faire chaud aujourd’hui”

The first thing I saw when my husband brought me a cup of coffee in bed (hmm, I’ve just admitted to the world how spoiled I am) was this beautiful reflection on an open window in my bedroom, so I grabbed my watercolors and sketchbook and tried to capture it, and something of the mood of the morning.

I hope you’re having a peaceful Sunday morning too, wherever you are.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 1:44 pm

    I’m so glad that I opened my laptop this Sunday morning. This may be my most favorite sketch of yours – I love it. I’ve slept late but will have to make my own cup of coffee. Right now. Keep cool!

  2. July 5, 2009 2:25 pm

    Ah, what a wonderfully relaxing post. Thank you for sharing your morning and your sketch.

  3. July 5, 2009 4:35 pm

    It is so bright and sunny.
    I knew I was doing something wrong! I bring my husband his coffee in bed!!! LOL

  4. July 5, 2009 4:58 pm

    What a delightful sketch. I can almost feel the breezes in the room. Happy Sunday.

  5. July 6, 2009 12:33 am

    Love the sketch and the use of the sketchbook. Enjoy your peaceful Sunday.

  6. July 6, 2009 6:12 am

    That bit of reflection is just wonderful! How great to have coffee and sketchbook first thing in the morning. What a sweetie your husband is!

  7. sandy permalink
    July 6, 2009 6:26 pm

    Glorious Casey, what a lucky woman you are – and it is Fabulous in New England this last weekend too!

  8. isabelle permalink
    July 7, 2009 11:47 am

    We just got back from Portugal (lisbon and Algarve): empty beaches, not many tourists in delighful Lisbon..
    I like how you describe this perfect moments of early summer mornings : I feel them too.
    love isa

  9. July 7, 2009 9:25 pm

    La journée commençait bien donc !…

  10. July 10, 2009 3:42 am

    aren’t they wonderful, husbands who bring us coffee in bed? I’m am very spoiled as well. This is a delightful little sketch, a peek into your sunday morning. Mine was nice as well!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

