Skip to content

A Sprained Ankle and a Weekend in Normandy

June 29, 2009

I’ve been hard to find on the web lately.  About ten days ago, I had a terribly embarrassing fall right in the center of Tours – running to save a parking place, I missed the sidewalk and crashed.  I won’t even go into the disdainful looks I got from the snotty French ladies sitting around the place where this happened, literally ading insult to injury.  The result, in addition to lots of scrapes and bruises, was a badly sprained ankle – for a few days I was pretty immobilized.

That’s about the only thing I drew for a week or two – I was working on an oil painting, but I probably should have left it alone.  Maybe  I’ll post it tomorrow, or maybe I’ll just throw it away.

That’s behind me now – other than stiffness and slight swelling, I’m doing pretty well. We just came back from an amazing weekend in Etretat – a seaside resort in Normandy, close to where we used to live.  Michel’s cousin and her husband bought a hotel there fifteen years ago, and they invited the entire family to celebrate the end of the mortgage. We took over all 60 rooms, and they treated us like royalty.  On Saturday night there were over 400 of us drinking champagne and eating things like foie gras and grilled scallops.

I was too busy drinking toasts to get any pictures on Saturday, but here are a few shots of smaller events – a dinner in the restaurant on Friday night  and a buffet outside before we left on Sunday. That’s Léonard, the patron, proposing one of the many toasts of the weekend.

P1020872

P1020867

P1020917

Here’s a shot of the view from the terrace, and me drawing on the beach Saturday morning:

P1020899

P1020880_2

Etretat is known for it’s beautiful white cliffs – when I was drawing on Saturday morning there was still a lot of fog around.

This is getting to be a long post – so more to come later.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 1:54 pm

    I commented on flickr but had to read the “story”. Great post and a great series of sketches.

  2. June 29, 2009 2:16 pm

    I feel for you. It’s worse to be embarrassed, as well as injured. The place in Normandy looks dreamy, and the sketches lovely. I particularly like the middle watercolor, with the cluster of figures.

  3. June 29, 2009 2:42 pm

    Oh dear, sounds painful both physically and mentally. (I did the same thing on Maui, missed the curb and fell, but only bruises but so embarrassing).

    Your sketches are wonderful and the scenery is awesome!! Talk about a perfect vacation place!!

    Hope you are up and around very soon.

  4. June 29, 2009 8:20 pm

    Etretat for ever as well as Cezane

  5. June 30, 2009 1:48 am

    Love your dedication to your art, even when you are bedridden. You have your priorities straight! I very much like the sketches of the cliffs. Wish I were there..

  6. June 30, 2009 2:34 am

    Oh, man, Casey–hope the ankle is better–sounds painful! I love the photos and your beautiful artwork–you captured the lovely feel of the place. Sounds like a great escape.

  7. June 30, 2009 11:39 am

    I’m glad you’re back! … and better!
    This Etretat is a place I must go and see sometime… The picture of the cliff is stunning!

  8. annie permalink
    July 1, 2009 11:36 pm

    Must have been horribly painful.
    But glad it is coming along. I love
    the paintings. I love the way you caught
    the height and majesty of those cliffs.
    annie

  9. July 2, 2009 2:36 am

    Thank god you did not break your ankle. I hope you are feeling better and your sketches are just lovely as are the photos.
    Take care

  10. July 2, 2009 9:59 am

    superbe travail.

  11. July 2, 2009 9:16 pm

    My dear… You have my utmost sympathy and empathy — I’ve been in casts 3 x each ankle plus additional ankle injuries since the age of 11. My weak point. I highly encourage you to take your time with the healing. Sprains can require patience and a lengthy recovery. My most recent sprain was just before Christmas and it was terribly frustrating to wait out the healing.

    However, I’m glad to know that you’ve had time by the sea (nice spot!) and that you’re back with the paints (love the photo of you with field kit), and happy to see your new sketches along the Normandy coast. Thanks for these.

  12. July 2, 2009 9:24 pm

    Oh, dear—how awful for you! I’m glad you’re mostly/all better now. Your time in Normandy was fun and productive, it appears. Yay for you for being such a trooper!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

