Skip to content

Home from San Francisco

May 29, 2009

My son Paul and I had a wonderful couple of weeks visiting my daughter in San Francisco.  I didn’t do a lot of sketching, as it drove Paul crazy to sit and watch me draw, but I did have a wonderful day drawing with Jana in Berkeley, at a jazz festival and around town

Unfortunately, all of the photos of that day seem to be on Paul’s camera, and he’s already run off to Paris to visit friends, so I have no photos of Jana today.  She’s every bit as much fun as her blog, and it was lots of fun to meet her, see her studio and all those amazing paintings she does – which are even more impressive in real life. We’ve both been working on oil painting with the Carder Method, and it was interesting to compare notes.

I also did some sketches on the various ferries we took around the bay, but I’ll post those another day.  Time to get some work done!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 1:56 pm

    A week flies by when you’re staying home (as I did); glad to see these sketches. They are wonderful. Is the last, of the building, Berkeley? Very citified looking and sunny. Very beautiful.

  2. May 29, 2009 3:10 pm

    Love your sketches and reading both your’s and Jana’s blogs about the time you spent together. Great post. Welcome home.

  3. May 29, 2009 3:50 pm

    Wonderful paintings Casey. I can see the joy shining out of them.

  4. Claudia permalink
    May 29, 2009 8:19 pm

    Great sketches & great fun. I love the line you get with what ever pen or maybe it’s the brush.. wonderful and yes as said before joyus. Also the sketches/preliminary drawings you did of the nudes are beautiful….

  5. May 29, 2009 8:20 pm

    great vibrant sketches!

    and welcome back :>)

  6. May 29, 2009 8:29 pm

    These are great. I hope that your vacation in San Francisco doesn’t preclude NYC again!

  7. May 29, 2009 10:57 pm

    Sounds lovely! I did see some of the sketches at Jana’s blog – how fun!

  8. Annie Fortenberry permalink
    May 29, 2009 11:33 pm

    Welcome home, Casey. Your sketches are so alive.
    I followed you and Paul on Jana’s blog, and so
    enjoyed sharing that day with the three of you.
    annie

  9. May 30, 2009 3:34 am

    This is far better than any picture!!! Your drawings are always incredibly good!!

  10. May 30, 2009 8:33 am

    wonderful sketches and great photo’s on Jana’s blog. Sounds like a great day

  11. May 30, 2009 3:41 pm

    Great sketches! Love what you posted on Flickr too!

  12. June 1, 2009 12:09 am

    Hi Casey and welcome back to blogland! Cool drawings; the gestures of your subjects are fun! I’m glad you were able to get some drawing in.

  13. June 1, 2009 10:10 am

    Lovely sketches!

  14. June 2, 2009 6:21 am

    These look so lively and in full bloom! I was out sketching tonight with the Monday night sketchcrawl group and Cathy told a story about an artist and his family she knew who were on a long roadtrip to a family reunion. Each time they stopped the family took photos and he sketched. When they finally got the reunion nobody was interested in seeing the photos. Everybody wanted to see his sketches!

  15. June 2, 2009 8:21 am

    J’adore !

  16. June 2, 2009 12:50 pm

    these look like such gay summer sketches…welcome back in the Loire valley! Love the umbrella sketch!
    Ronell

  17. June 3, 2009 3:21 am

    Wonderful fun sketches! San Francisco is one of my favorite cities. It’s nice to revisit it in your sketches.

  18. June 3, 2009 4:49 pm

    These are delightful sketches! The drawing of the brightly-painted buildings really captures the essence of San Francisco.

  19. June 3, 2009 5:32 pm

    These sketches are bubbling with colour and excitement, Casey. I tips my hat to you 🙂

  20. sandy permalink
    June 3, 2009 6:42 pm

    Oh what bright and lively sketches – I am sure your and Jana had a fabulous time.

  21. June 3, 2009 6:55 pm

    What wonderful paintings, Casey! I travel to UC Berkeley often for my job, and so I could well imagine in my mind what you were sketching here. I love these. I’m a big fan of Jana’s work as well, so how fun to hear you met one another, too!

  22. June 5, 2009 8:06 am

    beaux croquis et tes deux femmes au soleil sont tellement lumineuses !

  23. June 5, 2009 5:09 pm

    Delightful sketches Casey! I love the building — so colorful!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

