Skip to content

Things that go Bump in the Night…..

May 8, 2009

As part of our sketchbook exchange, les carnets baladeurs, I received Mimo’s sketchbook yesterday.  Her theme is “Rêves d’enfants, Paroles de mômes” (quick translation – children’s dreams and words).  My youngest child is almost 20 and hasn’t said anything cute in a long time, so I dug back into my own memory.  My strongest memory is of sitting in the dark and imagining frightening faces in every shadow.  I had loads of fun doing this.  I the best part of a sketchbook exchange, besides getting to know some really wonderful people, of course, is working on projects that you would normally never attempt.  Here’s mine, and thanks, Mimo, for the challenge!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 4:12 pm

    Wow – I am the first to comment! 😉
    I love it. So… universal! 😉

    I am also giving you the prestigious Lemonade Award 😉

  2. May 8, 2009 6:07 pm

    Great!!!

  3. May 8, 2009 9:42 pm

    Beautiful.

  4. annie permalink
    May 9, 2009 1:00 am

    Woooooo–You brought back memories, Casey. At 9 I desperately wanted my own space instead of sharing a room with my new little sister, so I got permission to use a room on the third floor off the attic. The room had a window into the attic from which I imagined many
    faces looking in as I hid under the bed covers from them and a room full of shadows as alive as these of yours. Independence was stronger than fearso I stayed.
    annie

  5. May 9, 2009 2:12 am

    This is great! I would have had a hard time trying to convey that, but you did a marvelous job on it. I love this! Way to go, Casey!

  6. May 9, 2009 4:15 pm

    Totally charmed by the face of Little Casey in the midst of the wild things. Absolutely delightful!

  7. peggyscx permalink
    May 9, 2009 6:26 pm

    Wow Casey! Powerful imagery in this one!

  8. May 10, 2009 3:39 pm

    What fun these are, Casey. I never did anything so brave as trying to conjure up scary faces when I was a child! You must have been an adorable imp!

  9. May 10, 2009 7:13 pm

    I love it! I can remember being afraid to get out of bed at night out of fear that the monsters under the bed would get me. Thanks for bringing back that memory.

  10. May 12, 2009 2:43 pm

    I think we can all relate in some way to this image! For me the images were so real that even after I was awake, I kept on seeing the scarry people/creatures! Heard you are going to be in the area. Call me 951 203 2975 if you make it so. ca. You are most welcome to come stay in the studio (it will sleep 2). Have a great ttime with your girl in SF!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

