Skip to content

Wisteria

April 29, 2009

A few days ago, Jana did a drawing of wisteria, and inspired me to do one of my own.  The glycine (for some reason, in our family we always use the French word for wisteria, even though we generally speak English to one another) has been our favorite sign of Spring since we moved to this area.  It’s out now, in all its purple glory, and it smells absolutely divine.  We had a few warm nights earlier this week and slept with the window open – what a delight to have that perfume in our room!  On the other hand, we know it won’t last long.  The leaves are already coming in, and one day soon we’ll look and it will be mostly green leaves, with just the occasional purple flower.  So here’s yet another attempt of mine to capture the wisteria in my yard – I try every year and am always disappointed by my efforts.

Is there a wisteria near you?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2009 3:31 pm

    This is my second attempt to comment, Casey – wordpress didn’t like the nasty electrical storm we were having. I’ve unplugged my laptop just to be safe.

    I love what you’ve done with your wisteria, particularly the beautiful shapes in the trunk. It is all over the place here but I’ve never attempted to paint it. Maybe tomorrow when I go out to the farm. It’s a wonderful herald of Spring isn’t it.

  2. April 29, 2009 4:27 pm

    Wisteria is here too. There are some heroic examples in the San Gabriel Valley and all through LA County.

  3. April 29, 2009 4:47 pm

    It looks so lovely with your statue beneath it, and beautiful colour. So sad that they are so shortlived!
    Ronell

  4. April 29, 2009 6:04 pm

    Oh, just lovely, Casey! I love the wisteria. I just took some photos of it, and it’s already fading here, excepting for the shorter variety. Your garden sounds really pretty.

  5. sandy permalink
    April 29, 2009 7:03 pm

    I adore wisteria, I know I could never capture it on paper- this is lovely and you captured the bubbly – froth of it all! Sadly my husband gave my wisteria a major chop a couple of weeks ago so no profusion of purple flowers for me 😦 He thinks it looks neater now.

  6. April 30, 2009 12:33 am

    Your wisteria looks graceful and lively, if that’s possible, at the same time. I haven’t seen any in bloom around here; maybe too early yet.

  7. April 30, 2009 12:52 am

    Yes, there is wisteria going up the utility poles across the street from my house. I will have to try to do a sketch of it. Thanks for the inspiration.

  8. April 30, 2009 2:05 am

    This is a wonderful sketch, Casey! It has such a happy, animated feel to it!

  9. April 30, 2009 5:17 am

    Yippee! You got ’em! The sketch is great–they look really vibrant.

  10. April 30, 2009 7:56 am

    Great!

  11. April 30, 2009 11:07 pm

    I’m delighted to see your colored pen and inks again. Always a joy. I used to make annual paintings of lilacs (when I lived in lilac climate) and always enjoyed the exercise.

  12. May 1, 2009 3:41 am

    I like what you’ve done with the wisteria. I love the old, shapely trunk and the froth of blossoms.

  13. May 1, 2009 4:09 am

    This is very beautiful! I’m frustrated with my Wisteria. I’ve been watching it for TEN years and not a single blossom on it.

    Yours is laden with blossoms and very beautiful.I think this is why god invented purple.

  14. May 1, 2009 4:11 pm

    Beautiful!

  15. Linda C permalink
    May 3, 2009 9:51 pm

    There is a wisteria vine down the road from me, very old given the size of the lower stalks, and climbing up a dead walnut tree–I think it is holding up the walnut tree. It is in full bloom and spectacular. In Kentucky.

    I am looking for a sketch or painting to use as a model to paint wisteria on a large wall. the wall is taupe, the wisteria will be olive green with light blue highlights.

  16. May 10, 2009 5:08 pm

    Boy, this entry just exactly describes what I fantasize France to be. Thanks for the mental and visual images. I enjoyed the gentleman in the kitchen with the roasted asparagus and then in the garden with his cigar. Wisteria is currently out here in California; is a real joy to see when you find it. Thanks for a great post. I just found your site today as a result of looking at “Jana’s Journal / Sketch Blog” and have bookmarked. Will be subscribing if I can figure out how to do it. Kirk, Novato, California, USA

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

