Skip to content

Do-Over

April 23, 2009

Not happy with one of the nudes I posted yesterday, I washed off the pastel and re-worked it with gouache and walnut stain.  Then I mixed up a lot of blue wash and poured it all over the background.  Here’s the result :

I like it better this way.

Robyn asked about my projector set-up.  I’m just using a Sanyo that my husband used to use a lot for PowerPoint presentations.  He does a lot fewer these days, so rather than have it collect dust in his office, I’ve been playing with it to transfer some drawings done in my life group.  It’s hard to catch this in a photo, but here’s the way it works. The clouds on the wall are a bit of a distraction, but you get the idea.

img_0001

Here’s the projector itself :

img_0004

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2009 1:46 am

    I saw yesterday’s post. I liked it & wondered what you didn’t like about it. But I love what you’ve done. It’s a great result.

  2. April 24, 2009 9:47 am

    Really interesting technique using the projector – and I like the nude with and without the pastel. How did you pour the paint on the background without getting it onto the figure?

  3. April 24, 2009 1:50 pm

    I dint know it was possible to wash off pastel… Anyway,it is a very interresting painting with a lot of atmosphere..

  4. April 26, 2009 3:15 am

    I probably wouldn’t have thought to wash off the pastel. I like this version better too.

  5. April 27, 2009 12:21 am

    Hi Casey, Fun nude and interesting gesture! I like the feeling of the wash and spatter — they fit the expression.

  6. April 28, 2009 3:13 pm

    Works very well with the mixed media, Casey. I love the form and the light.

    Thank you for posting your projector setup. Is it projecting the image from the computer? Very tempting way to deal with a really big painting. As I don’t have a projector, and it would really have to get in line behind my need for a telephoto camera lens, I’m just going to have to enjoy yours for now;.

  7. May 3, 2009 11:54 pm

    Casey — I hadn’t been by in a while and it looks like I’ve been missing out! Wonderful work on these last pieces. Using black shades to make a dark studio space … that’s genius. Lots to learn from you!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

