Skip to content

Catching Up

April 6, 2009

I’m still working on painting still life.  I followed Jana’s advice and toned down the background on this one, but the camera still makes it brighter than it really is.

I’m also working on anther one – I’ve actually done a bit to it since taking this photo, and I think I’m almost there:

Life drawing hasn’t been going terribly well.  There are times when things flow, and the rest of the time.  I hope this means I’m about to make a breakthrough – that’s usually how I console myself when things aren’t working too well!

Here’s one from each of the last two sessions :

I wish I could find a shortcut to better drawing!

Finally, a quick sketch while out hiking.  I’ve been doing much less sketch lately, and I must make myself start again.  This was done with water soluble crayons.  I didn’t spend much time on it, and I think it shows!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 2:13 am

    Hoely moley, your still life is just awesome. I had to look three times to be sure it wasn’t a photo!!

  2. April 7, 2009 2:26 am

    I love your diversity of media and subjects! I’m intrigued by your still life set up. What is that black box on top of the set up? I can’t wait to see how ths one turns out…I like the overall tone of it!

  3. April 7, 2009 8:56 am

    Casey, all your paintings are truly wonderful, and I love those still lifes!

  4. April 7, 2009 6:17 pm

    Wow, have you been busy! These are really beautiful.

  5. April 8, 2009 3:43 am

    I love your oils, Casey. You’re really doing well, especially considering how recently you’ve taken them up. And your hiking sketches are beautifully loose and lovely. Your life drawings are terrific, too!

  6. April 8, 2009 1:51 pm

    I love the blue still life and I really, really have a crush on you drawings – they are so full of life!

  7. April 9, 2009 10:24 am

    like marta i too thought at first that your still life was a photograph! the tea set has been painted beautifully.

  8. April 9, 2009 10:26 am

    oops! like teri 😛 i’m assuming the little black box contains the light source. thanks for sharing your set up.

  9. April 10, 2009 9:03 pm

    Casey, I like your drawings and paintings! There’s poetry in the fluid lines of your drawings. I think the oil painting is working well for you; very impressive!

  10. April 15, 2009 2:18 am

    Your still-lifes seem more about the light than the object. I aspire to this kind of subtlety.
    Nice work.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

