Skip to content

Recent Activity

March 25, 2009

I haven’t only been doing quick ink and wash sketches lately.  I’m still working on oil painting.  I finally decided to work on a canvas, and I’m using M Graham paints, which are made with walnut oil, and so don’t have the awful (at least to me) and toxic smell of linseed oil.  I’m not sure how close this is to finished – I think I’m at the point where the more I touch it the more I screw it up.  I changed the background color yesterday by glazing over the original black background, which looked awful.  Maybe it’s time to put it away and hope to improve on the next one.

Here’s the studio setup

And here’s a shot of the painting – it’s fuzzy and the light was wrong, but there you are

And of course, I still do life drawing twice a week.  Last Wednesday, some of the guys brought in some large sheets of paper they’d recuperated at the art school.  Since our model was a very tall dancer, I decided to try a larger format – here’s a photo of the drawings in my studio to show the scale.

A couple of closeups :

2 minutes (whew – that’s a lot of ground to cover in 2 minutes!)

and 10 minutes :

and, on Saturday morning , we had an incredible model who took one beautiful pose after another, but yours truly had run out of coffee that morning, so I wasn’t quite with it, at least for the first ones.  A couple of them came together though :

2 – 5 minutes

and longer poses – up to ten minutes

As you can see, I was sitting in the back! That’s what I get for arriving late. Note to self – always remember to check the coffee supply on Friday evenings…..

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2009 9:50 am

    those are some really cool sketches…

  2. March 25, 2009 10:14 am

    Your oil painting is quite lovely and maintains some of the looseness of Casey with the detail of your subject. The figure drawings on the large format paper are so wonderful and expressive. I’d love to surround myself with those huge pieces of paper in my studio. I’m sure you can see the humor in that wish….

  3. March 25, 2009 1:42 pm

    I’ve been in Italy for more than a month and it’s a pleasure to come here and see so beautifull works!

  4. March 25, 2009 3:39 pm

    I think you are a natural oil painter – this is superb! And the life drawings – I never knew they were so big, it’s quite incredible that you do these so quickly! Umm, I don’t want to be pushy but I think you have a caffine addiction there!!

  5. caseytoussaint permalink*
    March 25, 2009 4:15 pm

    Most of the time I work A3 size – the top ones were an experiment. It was lots of fun but I was exhausted after two hours!
    And yes, I do need my coffee – I try to keep it to one cup, but I hate to skip it completely.

  6. March 25, 2009 5:38 pm

    There’s a looseness and a lustre to your oil paintings that I so admire and envy, Casey. As Felicity says you are a natural. Consider yourself very fortunate.

    To top that off, you have also become wonderful adept at capturing the figure. The ‘longer’ studies at the end of the post are fabulous. Ten minutes! I’d still be looking for my charcoal 😉

    And I don’t get out of bed until I’ve had two cappuccinos!

  7. March 25, 2009 7:01 pm

    Wow, Casey–you are really quickly becoming adept at the oils! I love seeing the differences in style when one shifts from one medium to the next. Fascinating, and beautiful. Your figures are amazing–I don’t know how you did such large studies so quickly, either. They’re quite accomplished looking.

  8. March 26, 2009 10:23 am

    Hi Casey – love your drawings as usual..and the oil painting is wonderful, I think you should keep at it. do some 10 minute sketches with oil – that should be interesting.
    I love seeing your studio – are those clouds on the walls???

  9. March 27, 2009 9:40 am

    Your oil painting is wonderful, Casey. I love the figures with the painted backgrounds—perfect!

  10. annie permalink
    March 27, 2009 9:16 pm

    I am amazed by the oils– I haven’t a clue where I’d begin. I always love your sketches. The ones on the toned paper with the white accents are splendid. Coffee?
    When I had to cut back, then mostly out, I realized that the Real Me was Really 95% caffeine! I am in total
    sympathy 🙂
    annie

  11. March 28, 2009 8:13 pm

    You have an amazing ability to draw the figure. And I love seeing the drawings in your studio! Looks nice and cozy!

  12. March 29, 2009 8:43 pm

    I agree with Shirley that you are a natural at oils. I like the way the tea set is drawn and painted–very lovely and organic. Perhaps the background could be improved with some variations and gradations in tone, and maybe a less intense color. The dark magenta background comes forward and distracts my attention from the real subject of the painting. I’ve been experimenting with M. Graham gouache and really liking it. I’ll have to try their oils. I don’t really mind the scent of linseed oil (which is just a vegetable oil and not really toxic, but I’m sure it’s offensive to some noses!) but I am quite impressed with M. Graham products and use their Walnut Oil Alkyd Medium which is so much better than Liquin which STINKS! It was great seeing bits of your studio in action. I’d be very interested to know more about how you’re lighting your still lifes when you put them in the black box.

  13. March 30, 2009 1:49 pm

    I have to agree, you are a natural at oils … yet, you also seem a natural at sketching also. Love your life drawing poses you sketched. Beautiful.

  14. March 30, 2009 2:16 pm

    Hi Casey, Wonderful! I particularly like the shapes and volumes in your still life. The life drawings are great!

  15. April 2, 2009 2:43 am

    These drawings are just fabulous – un régal pour les yeux :-))

    Have you tried M. Graham’s watercolor? So concentrated 🙂

  16. April 15, 2009 4:14 am

    Oh Casey I think your oils look wonderful! I think your studio looks pretty terrific too! I also am wondering how you are lighting your subjects when they are in a black box. As far as the figure drawing, I find the more I do the better it gets. The proportions, the line, the movement. Often the fastest ones are the best, I am unable to overwork it or get caught up in all the details. Your work is wonderful! I am coming to Italy and Paris in May, hoping to meet up with you and Ronell.

  17. Jean Spitzer permalink
    April 18, 2009 12:29 am

    Love the drawings. I’ve to check out the M Graham oil paints; the linseed oil smell is not my favorite, though not as bad to me as the smell of acrylic paint as it dries.

  18. May 8, 2009 5:53 pm

    magnifiques ces croquis! et les fonds colorés sont une bonne idée

  19. May 8, 2009 6:00 pm

    Your sketches are stunning!!!! I’m speechless!!!!

  20. May 8, 2009 10:51 pm

    Gosh, you are good.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

