Skip to content

Out to Lunch

March 23, 2009

Michel came back yesterday from a week-long ski trip with a buddy.  He had a great week, but was glad to be back, and he took today off to enjoy the great weather we’re having. We decided to go to Tours for lunch, but, this being Monday, most of our favorite restaurants were closed.  So, we tried a new one, and I’ll admit I was a little nervous – I get really grumpy when I eat out and its not good.  but it was amazing – our new favorite restaurant I think.

The service was so good that it was difficult to scratch out a couple of sketches of fellow patrons in between courses, but I did try.

The food was wonderful – we had scallops in a cream sauce on vegetables, and the wine – a Menetou-Salon, was absolutely heavenly.

Et voila le résultat ! Back home in the garden – a little nap in the sun.

Maybe I should go join him…….

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 3:21 pm

    Great sketches…the scallops sound so good!
    ronell

  2. March 23, 2009 3:49 pm

    I love how free and spontaneous these are!

  3. sandy permalink
    March 23, 2009 3:51 pm

    First of all I could take a nap there too -NOW. and I love your restaurant sketches and the flowers below – spring is so dang cheerful!!

  4. March 23, 2009 5:10 pm

    Sounds like a blissful day, Casey – I hope you gave in to the snooze in the sun.

    Great restaurant sketches. I particularly love the composition of the last one.

  5. March 23, 2009 6:04 pm

    Wonderful sketches!! He looks so comfy out there I am thinking of doing the same thing in the sun. 🙂

  6. March 23, 2009 6:38 pm

    Oooh, the meal sounds great. I love your quick restaurant/cafe types of paintings, Casey–you always so readily capture the moment with them. I love that final photo, too. Looks like bliss. Sounds like it was a fun day. I say yes–go join him!

  7. March 24, 2009 12:41 am

    sounds like a wonderful day –glad you found time to sketch! I love that first one– I think I’m attracted to the rosy reds.

    Love seeing your garden too! It’s still really cold here– 22degrees F tonight — I had to cover the lettuce and pansies with newspaper –It’s so nice to see a photo of a warm place.

  8. March 24, 2009 10:08 am

    The sketches are gorgeous, and what a perfect time when you can include sketches too! The photo is great! We had lovely weather and then suddenly this morning we have flakes of snow – it’s quite bizarre! (Oh, and that Monday closing drives me mad!!)

  9. March 24, 2009 10:27 am

    Barry and I would have enjoyed lunch with you and Michel so much and looking around at the other patrons made me feel as if we were there. Some day….

  10. AVBK permalink
    March 28, 2009 1:43 pm

    I love your portraits of Tourangeaux. A long time ago we lived in Tours and one of our treats was to take the girls to visit Amboise – I remember there was a restaurant there on a slight hill and they wrote the day’s menu on the window and on the other window they wrote
    miam! miam!
    This was very inviting but I sadly can’t remember us ever eating there – an opportunity missed.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

