Skip to content

Spring Comes to My Garden

March 21, 2009

While waiting for a cake* to bake this afternoon I went out into the garden and realized that in just a few days things hav really started to happen.  Here are some sketches of the earliest flowers to bloom.  Yay – Spring!!!

The thing that caught my eye was that the camelia bushes seem to have bloomed overnight :

We’ve had crocuses for over a week – my husband planted them all over the lawn, which is pretty but not very practical for mowing!

I hadn’t noticed before that the daffodils had bloomed :

And I don’t know what this flower is called, but the snails have obviously been munching on the leaves for a while already!

*  This is off topic for this blog, but if you, like me, are watching your carbohydrate consumption, here is a link to an amazing web site with wonderful low carb recipes made with simple ingredients.  The cake was delicious!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2009 5:54 pm

    These charming paintings are the personification of spring! I love that your husband planted crocuses all over the lawn. Sometimes beauty simply has to come before function! 🙂

  2. March 21, 2009 8:24 pm

    Beautiful sketches

  3. March 22, 2009 1:21 am

    This sure says “spring” to me! Lovely! They’re all beautiful. I, too, am seeing tulips blooming here, along with daffodils. I’m in heaven.

  4. March 22, 2009 1:26 am

    I’m so jealous of your beautiful flowers – it is still cold in New York. The tulips are approximately 6 inches tall and have several more weeks before we have huge beds of them everywhere.

  5. March 22, 2009 2:07 am

    So bright, beautiful and happy! Spring really has arrived.

  6. March 22, 2009 5:40 am

    Beautiful and fresh, Casey. Spring has sprung!

  7. March 22, 2009 12:18 pm

    These are so colourful and gorgeous! Thanks for the link, I’m low carb too. I’ve been obsessing about foods for a couple of weeks after some problems and have just this morning thrown out some cartons of a probiotic drink containing aspartame. On first glance I noticed a few recipes call for sweeteners. Looks like a great site though and I’ve saved it to go through later!

  8. March 22, 2009 12:22 pm

    Love your flower sketches… just lovely.

  9. March 22, 2009 1:42 pm

    Thanks for visiting everyone!
    Felicity, you’re right – sweeteners are always a problem with low carb. I try to use erythritol (ordered from the States) or stevia, both of which are natural, if I can – but I figure anything’s better than sugar. I’m sure it would be way better just not to eat sweets, but I’m so weak……

  10. March 22, 2009 5:57 pm

    Festive flowers! Spring hasn’t arrived here yet, so it’s great to get a preview!

  11. March 22, 2009 6:04 pm

    Wowee! Are you sure these weren’t made with stained glass? Stunning and brilliant, a wonderful way to wake up and enjoy spring! It’s very springlike here today: bright, sunny and windy. So why am I indoors at the computer?! I took a look at the biscuits website. I’m following a low cholesterol diet right now and surprisingly really enjoying it. It’s sort of the anti-low carb diet though — lots of whole grains, beans and veges and fruit. Maybe to keep it on topic I’ll do some sketching of beans and grains in jars.

  12. March 23, 2009 10:18 am

    Casey, these are stupendous!!! Your anticipation of the cake seems to have opened your eyes wide! Is this the first spring of the new garden? I’ve lost track, but I know it’s either the first or the second.
    Btw, in September I want us to go to Villandry–it rained the first time I was there. Your sketches made me think of being in your beautiful garden and in that other, slightly more famous, one ;D.

  13. caseytoussaint permalink*
    March 23, 2009 3:43 pm

    This is the first Spring with the new garden, and it’s really exciting watching it start to bloom. Villandry sound great – especially in the fall. the last time I went there it rained as well, but it was still gorgeous. And there’s a wonderful little restaurant right next door…….

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

