Skip to content

Out and About in Touraine

March 19, 2009

I’m a little giddy now that the nice weather is finally here – sort of high on sunshine (maybe it’s the vitamin d?) – and I’ve been out and about as much as possible. Who knows when the rainy days will be back….

On Tuesday, I went for a long walk  with my neighbors Nicole and Jacques, and it took us past a house which was once owned by Guillaume Appolinaire, in a small village near here.  I don’t think he ever stayed there – he died in a flu epidemic while he was still young, but la jolie rousse, his significant other, lived there until her death, and I’ve met old Amboisiens who knew her. The present owner, who is a friend, invited us in to sketch, so here’s a small corner.

We continued on out into the country, and I made some really quick sketches of a couple of old farms.

And today, I went out to visit my good friends Steven and Veronica at their farm Le Plessis, and sketched their dog Tallulah and the neighbor’s horse Beauty.

I hope the sun is out wherever you are!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 6:04 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous colours! And the linework makes everything come alive, wonderful.

  2. sandy permalink
    March 19, 2009 6:37 pm

    Oh what a gorgeous day and such gorgeous sites to sketch – i envy you – it has been cold and rainy here but at least not snowy 🙂 I feel your spring fever and love looking at your splashy colorful sketches (and thanks for being so kind to comment on my blog ) Hope the sun keeps shining!

  3. March 19, 2009 7:18 pm

    I love your loose style with the pen, especially the window treatment of the old house. It encourages me to keep it simple and not be such a perfectionist with my sketches.

  4. March 19, 2009 10:21 pm

    So wonderful, free and colorful.
    (the sun always seems to shine in Tucson) but I can relate.

  5. March 19, 2009 10:27 pm

    I love your loose lines and bright colors. The horse is especially charming!

  6. March 20, 2009 5:39 am

    Lovely sketching Casey, I love especially those farmhouses…and yes, isn’t the weather absolutely gorgeous!
    ronell

  7. March 20, 2009 10:21 am

    Wonderful series of paintings. I never tire of seeing your spontaneous, lively, loose style and vibrant colors. I feel as if I can trace your steps and feel the sun.

  8. March 20, 2009 8:19 pm

    This horse is just so beautiful!!

  9. March 21, 2009 1:03 pm

    Casey, I’m so happy you enjoyed my blog. Yours is wonderful and I’m so inspired by your work. I related to so many things you had to say also, and I wouldn’t be surprised if I get my hands on a copy of Le Batarde, for all the reasons you mentioned but especially the great characterizations and Proustianism 🙂 You are very, very talented.

  10. March 21, 2009 1:56 pm

    What an enjoyable post to read and see. How nice to be able to walk to something so interesting. I do see sunshine in your sketches, what a joy.

  11. March 21, 2009 4:10 pm

    I really like your loose paintings and strong colors – very nice work!

  12. March 21, 2009 7:12 pm

    It’s snowing here! It doesn’t snow here very often. It’s supposed to be spring, for goodness sake! But I love your watercolours, Casey, great work on the horse and I love the buildings.

    Your garden is way ahead of ours. I don’t think Tuscany is all it’s cracked up to be 😦

  13. March 21, 2009 7:51 pm

    Aaaw – I wish I could send you some of this sun in a bottle! I’m pretty sure this good weather won’t last, as it never does. That’s why we’re all out trying to take advantage of it!

  14. March 22, 2009 12:13 pm

    Absolutely wonderful – so loose and colourful! Yes, I know how you feel – being giddy – it’s about time spring arrived! 😉

  15. March 25, 2009 10:56 am

    Que j’aime ces croquis aux couleurs saturée !

  16. April 25, 2009 7:25 pm

    J’aime beaucoup ces couleurs vives et cette liberté de “touche”, beauc croquis, bravo ! et peut-être à bientôt via les “carnets baladeurs” (Blog de Encre) !

  17. April 25, 2009 7:25 pm

    En fait je me répète (j’avais déjà posté !!!)

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

