Skip to content

Scenes from My Kitchen

February 10, 2009

A good antidote to a bad day’s oil painting – some quicky sketches, done while watching TED talks in my kitchen. Tomorrow I’ll see if I can do something with the landscape I’m struggling through for my oil painting class!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 6:25 pm

    I must say that these glimpses of a day, a place are my favorite subjects of yours. I love how you achieve such vibrancy of color. I have such a hard time getting intense color even when I feel I am not using too much water!

  2. February 10, 2009 7:37 pm

    Your art is always so beautiful, colorful and full of life!

  3. February 10, 2009 8:06 pm

    LOVE LOVE the pots!!!

  4. February 10, 2009 8:47 pm

    I LOVE the tomato! It seems like summer. I agree that I am happy to see these vibrant sketches…. These are where your real life shines through!

  5. February 10, 2009 10:22 pm

    You’re very adept at switching back and forth between mediums (media?) I love the last one in particular with it’s fabulous palette. These are great, Casey!

  6. February 10, 2009 10:22 pm

    Hmmmmm…that would be “its”

  7. annie permalink
    February 10, 2009 11:13 pm

    I always love your sketches. Fun to see them with the oil touches–so happy and so bright.
    annie

  8. February 11, 2009 1:25 am

    I love seeing your inimitable water color sketches, always. But your oil paintings are really coming along. What a productive year you’re having already!

  9. Martin permalink
    February 11, 2009 1:59 am

    simply wonderful. it’s always a pleasure to find some minutes and come to this paradise to see and admire your watercolours. AND NOW OILS TOO! Hugs, Martín.

  10. February 11, 2009 4:26 pm

    OOh, that tomato is luscious! I really love your bold use of color.

  11. February 12, 2009 9:09 pm

    Isn’t TED just fabulous! I always head there when I’m needing a bit of inspiration / motivation / brain food!

  12. February 12, 2009 9:28 pm

    Casey, I love these beauties! and I watch TED too.

  13. February 14, 2009 5:16 pm

    I love the juicy sketches!

  14. February 14, 2009 8:35 pm

    Fabulous sketches and fun to glimpse into your kitchen!

    Did you know that in olde England (Tudor times) tomatoes were called ‘Love Apples’? It probably goes back farther than that.

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  15. February 15, 2009 2:44 am

    Hi Casey, thank you for your comments on how to fix my clementine sketch. Your advice, as always, was dead on. Thanks for taking the time to pass on your experience and wisdom. You rock!

  16. February 16, 2009 10:53 am

    I missed this celebration of watercolour. Gorgeous. I think the best thing about trying a new medium is that it is like getting out of school when one goes back to the familiar.

    Particularly taken with the saucepans. And as everyone has already said – wonderful wealth of colour, Casey.

  17. Wendy Shortland permalink
    March 3, 2009 9:44 am

    Oh, I am watching TED talks this last week. They mentioned in an article in the Sydney Morning Herald about the Elizabeth Gilbert one, and I thought she had a very interesting take on creativity and genius.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

