Skip to content

Second Oil Painting

February 9, 2009

I’m still slogging away at this.  This weekend I set up another still life and quickly realized that I was in over my head on the details, but I indicated them in a sloppy sort of a way, and when I came back to it two days later it didn’t looks as bad.  Thank you, art fairy!

This medium is so slippy/slidy that I find I lose my shapes (like the ellipses).  It’s really teaching me to look at color and value in a new way, so even if I never get really good at it, I’m still moving forward, I guess.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 4:05 pm

    I really like the unstructured details on the vase. They read as hydrangea blossoms to me. And the cobalt blue glasses look very shiny. Beautiful job!

  2. February 9, 2009 6:53 pm

    These are beautiful–I really like your work in oils–you seem to latch on to every medium you try with ease. How scrumptious, and yes–thank you art fairies. Beautiful colors!

  3. February 9, 2009 7:10 pm

    Isn’t the art fairy wonderful! She did beautiful work! 🙂

  4. February 9, 2009 7:45 pm

    going well :>)

    slippy slidy??? maybe too much oil in the medium? or are you using canvas boards? they can be horribly slimy and slidy. A coat of primer would fix it.

    If you want drier paint you can put it out on newspaper to leach out some of the oil.

  5. sandy permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:59 pm

    Oh My Casey this has a luscious glow about it!!!Your work is so versatile!

  6. February 9, 2009 10:37 pm

    You seem to be a natural at all the mediums. The blue in the cups is mezermising. Beautiful.

  7. February 9, 2009 11:24 pm

    Oooh! You really captured the texture of the porcelain nicely! Just like you have to put a painting away after working on it in order to see it properly, sometimes it’s good to stray from your primary medium in order to return to it with an appreciative embrace and a bit more perspective.

    Do you think Jean Cocteau ever did an oil painting? Does that make him any less an artist?

  8. February 10, 2009 2:08 am

    Oh Casey this is just beautiful!

  9. February 10, 2009 7:55 am

    I love the tonal contrasts in this, and those elipses look fine to me. The thing about the slippy-slidiness of oil paint is to enjoy it. You could have a go at doing a small painting very fast, and just see what happens!

  10. February 10, 2009 1:44 pm

    I’d say you found your medium – if I didn’t know how wonderful your watercolours were too! It’s really amazing work!

  11. February 10, 2009 3:34 pm

    There is a crispness and depth in this, Casey that reminds me of John Singer Sargent – I kid you not! Beautiful.

  12. February 10, 2009 6:18 pm

    It’s lovely Casey. I am not at all surprised that you’ve mastered this medium also. I love the hues in this!

  13. annie permalink
    February 10, 2009 11:08 pm

    There is such a sheen on the vase and glow on the glasses. Lovely, Casey.
    annie

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

