Skip to content

Life Drawing

February 3, 2009

I’m lucky enough to do life drawing twice a week right now.  This is incredibly liberating.  When I only went once every 2 weeks, I was much more stressed out about my drawing.  Now I can see that I have good days and bad days, days where one medium works really well for me, and other days when I can’t do a thing with it.  I generally draw better in the morning group, but things change.  We’re lucky enough to have some amazing models, but I find that I respond to some better than others, I couldn’t say why.  Looking around, I see that all of these thing seem to be true of most people, and I learn a lot from watching some of my exxtremely talented drawing companions.  I keep saying I’ll work on life drawing (for example practice hands and feet!)  in between sessions when the pressure is off, but I don’t often get to it – maybe today?

Here is a sample of the ones I like best from the last couple of weeks.

Quick  charcoal drawings (2 to 5 minutes)

Pencil – usually 5 minutes

And finally, watercolor and pencil – I need at least 5 minutes to do one of these – often the poses stretch to 10 or even 15 minutes (at the end of a session, we sort of stop counting!)

And sometimes when I’ve finished a pose and the others are still working, I try my hand at a quick portrait:

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 12:12 pm

    I LOVE all of these, Casey. You’re the only one who makes me think that I should add life drawing to my routine when I retire.

  2. February 3, 2009 3:25 pm

    Well done! Thanks for posting these, some are just exquisite. This really inspires me to take up a life drawing class… I really like your new blog look and banner! But then, I would…. it’s the beach.

  3. February 3, 2009 4:42 pm

    Oh, you are GOOD at this, Casey! All that practice is reaping the most marvellous rewards. I don’t know which of these to single out for special praise. Thanks for sharing them all!

  4. February 3, 2009 7:02 pm

    They remind me of Charles Reid’s nudes… wonderful color and simple lines to capture the figure…. I’m really impressed.

  5. February 3, 2009 9:16 pm

    These are fabulous Casey!! And only 5 minutes. Wowee.

  6. February 3, 2009 10:09 pm

    Casey, your work just gets better and better all the time. I am such a fan. Love your new header again, too! These are wonderful figure studies.

  7. February 3, 2009 10:43 pm

    these are great! so fluid and alive :>)

  8. February 4, 2009 4:16 am

    Look at you go girl!! Wow, I love all the work you are showing lately. The pastels are awesome… Also I love the life drawings. Really, can’t say enough to let you know how much I love the work I see.

  9. February 5, 2009 3:48 pm

    These are delightful sketches! It is amazing to see what you can do in 5 or 10 minutes!! I love the subtle nuances of the portrait.

  10. February 6, 2009 10:50 am

    Very good, Casey! I like them all!They look so fresh and as if you had done them totally effortless…

  11. joasdi permalink
    February 7, 2009 10:10 am

    Great work…..I must say that you are amazing good in figure sketching.

  12. February 8, 2009 3:02 am

    I love the watercolor and pencil ones best but these are ALL so nice!!! Sue is right– you’re work IS getting better and better.

  13. February 8, 2009 6:15 pm

    Your life drawing sketches are amazing, Casey. So much movement. I love the first pencil and watercolor (figure lying on her side)—great color, light and shadow.

  14. February 9, 2009 4:38 am

    Your drawings are wonderful, and you do them quickly! They’re lyrical.

  15. February 10, 2009 2:27 am

    I love them all – each one is a little poem.

  16. March 25, 2011 9:10 am

    Great studies. Really like them; nice and fresh. Particularly like colour studies.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

