Skip to content

Still Life Duo Number 4

February 2, 2009

In case anyone out there has been wondering where I’d wandered off to lately , I’m trying to learn oil painting, thanks to Nel, who is teaching an online class.

Whenever I learn a new medium I get grumpy and dissatisfied with myself.  Why can’t I just be a virtuoso right way?  There must be something wrong with me!  Yes, once out of my comfort zone I become extremely jumpy.

I have an awfully active and critical left brain, and I wish it would shut up.

So here is my latest pastel in this series, followed by my very first oil painting.  I’m working so hard just keeping the paint on the surface that it’s tight and messy at the same time, but on the up side, I can only get better.

img_00031

I’ve also been doing lots of life drawing, but I need to go through it all and cull.  I’ll post some of that tomorrow.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 3:14 pm

    Your still life duo project is progressing beautifully–each painting is lovely on its own, and as a group they’re astounding! Your first oil looks very good to me–the light on the top of the bottle and the modeling of the pitcher are fine. I a similar problem when I tried oil painting–I always felt like I couldn’t get the paint off the brush and onto the canvas.

  2. February 2, 2009 4:02 pm

    Hi Casey, Both versions are lush. I know the feeling about trying a new medium. I have a love/hate relationship with acrylic. It will be interesting to see how you find working with oil and the on-line class. Cool!

  3. February 2, 2009 6:06 pm

    I tried working with pastel and it doesn’t work for me. But you show great skill when you work with it. They both look excellent.

  4. February 2, 2009 6:45 pm

    Hi Casey,

    looking good – but can I make a small crit? I’d like your pastel so much better if you used pastel with the lovely freedom of your watercolours – varying the direction and pressure of the strokes and patches of colour knitted up with line (like you would in w’col) – using the strokes all going one way makes it much stiffer and tighter than I’m used to seeing your work. I’m sure you’d be happier with the results?

    Have you got this snow over there? I’m thinking river and snow ….

    :>)

    V

  5. February 2, 2009 7:24 pm

    Glad to see a new post. I just figured you were in the winter cave. Kudos for learning to conquer oil. I’ve been working on some oils myself but slowly, slowly. I’m right there with you… wanting immediate proficiency.

    When I teach drawing and watercolor, the BIGGEST thing I work with is student’s self-criticism. It’s a lesson for life and all that we do. Learning to enjoy each moment and love ourselves no matter where we’re at with particulars.

  6. February 2, 2009 10:13 pm

    Wow Casey, I am majorly impressed with your results here. You WILL be a master very soon!

  7. February 2, 2009 10:27 pm

    Cant believe this is your first oil work. It turned out beautifully and you’ve kept the colours so clean and subtle. I find its well worth putting a coloured base onto the canvas (in acrylic so it dries quickly) and then the oil paint goes onto that base so easily.
    BTW, the squirrel/synthetic brush I mentioned in my recent post is from Stratford & York.

  8. February 3, 2009 12:59 am

    Fabulous color in that first one! The beginning of learning how to paint in oils is a mud field for everyone. At least you picked the right time of year ;D. You’ve really got a sense of solidity in both pieces—well done.

  9. February 3, 2009 3:47 am

    This has to be my favorite so far! The oil looks good for a first painting also! I can feel your fussiness with it. I think if you do some more you’ll master the medium as you have watercolor and pastel! I better start thinking of how to approach my 4th!

  10. February 3, 2009 8:06 am

    That is amazing for your first oil! I love both of these. It’s lovely to follow your progress and thoughts.

  11. February 3, 2009 8:15 am

    You have beautiful colour and clarity in the olive oil in your pastel, Casey.

    I prefer the composition in your oil painting – which one would never guess was a first oil! The glass is excellent and the luster on the jug, beautiful. The dark, velvety background looks great. Excellent start and I’m looking forward to more.

  12. February 3, 2009 2:26 pm

    Casey, they’re both lovely.

    Learning the mechanics of different media drives me nuts. So many things to remember at one time! At least oil painting is slower than watercolor, and you have more time to work on each piece. As with many things, practice helps.

    Keep up the good work. You’re already doing well.

  13. February 8, 2009 3:00 am

    These are lovely Casey! and good for you for diving into oils. I’ve got to get moving– I’m on still life number 3 and holding…. : )

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

