Skip to content

Mandarines (or Clémentines?)

January 23, 2009

A quick sketch of some fruit someone gave me.  I actually don’t eat much fruit any more, but I do like to paint it!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2009 2:20 pm

    beautiful! I love the looseness and fluid movement of the paint. Very free!

  2. January 23, 2009 2:44 pm

    Very rich and created with such freedom. Enjoyed viewing your recent life drawing posts.. such clear and spontaneous lines.

  3. January 23, 2009 2:45 pm

    I eat lots of fruit, but none as beautiful as this. Really lovely, Casey. The colors just look so rich, and I love the light and dark shadow shapes.

  4. January 23, 2009 2:49 pm

    I like your clear, strong colors. Your lines are wonderfully fluid and graceful!

  5. January 23, 2009 5:01 pm

    They are beautiful and looks so juicy and good.

  6. January 23, 2009 5:32 pm

    There is just nothing to be said about the mastery of your brush on paper!

  7. January 23, 2009 7:41 pm

    Gorgeously simple, and mouthwatering colour!

    Could you tell me, Casey, what brand of w/colours and paper you used here? You have probably mentioned these things before but if so, I’ve missed the information.

  8. January 23, 2009 8:07 pm

    Lovely, such loose and strong washes, and lyrical lines in the stem and leaves. And I really just love the little drips of orange paint!

  9. January 23, 2009 8:29 pm

    Sweet! I’m happy to see another bright and cheery watercolor.

  10. January 23, 2009 9:14 pm

    Oh my goodness! This is absolutely stunning, elegant and brilliant!!!!! One of your very finest pieces. And you called it a quick sketch! Sheesh!

  11. January 23, 2009 9:43 pm

    Great work! and I who so much love fruit could eat them!

  12. January 24, 2009 9:48 am

    Oh yum! There is so much joy in this sketch, Casey. And confidence, too. Lovely. And how great to have you back!

  13. January 24, 2009 2:30 pm

    Luscious fruit! So rich in color and inviting.

  14. January 25, 2009 2:14 pm

    You can’t get much fresher looking than this painting. I really like it.

  15. January 25, 2009 3:56 pm

    These are lovely … such a bright cheerful color for our overcast cold day.

  16. January 26, 2009 4:04 am

    So loose and vivid and rich! You do so much with a few strokes perfectly placed.

  17. caseytoussaint permalink*
    January 26, 2009 10:13 am

    Thanks for the kind comments, everyone.

    EJ, In answer to your question – I was using really cheap Yarka watercolors. They’re semi-moist and the oranges and reds are great. Someday maybe I’ll get the St Petersburg ones which are the artist quality paints. The paper is also a cheap store-brand watercolor, which is extremely non-porous. This is my life drawing stuff, and I did the sketch right after I got home.

  18. January 26, 2009 3:19 pm

    Casey, you prove the point that it’s not the materials but the artist that makes the artwork. I have both the inexpensive and the St. Petersburg watercolors from Yarka, but I’ve only used them to make color charts of the sets. Both sets have beautiful, rich colors, and the semi-moist factor makes them so easy to use. They supposedly are not very lightfast, but unless you leave them in the sun, they should be fine. I need to pull my sets out to play, though I doubt they will make me paint as well as you. *lol*

  19. January 26, 2009 7:22 pm

    Thanks for the comment!

  20. January 27, 2009 9:43 pm

    They ARE great fun to paint, those sassy little clementines–and you’ve done them proud.

  21. January 30, 2009 12:05 am

    Casey–I love those strong colors and painterly rendering of fruit. Yarka, huh? I have some St. Petersburg colors which I really like but haven’t used Yarka….you did a wonderful job, setting the standard high!

  22. February 3, 2009 3:07 am

    Delicious! I love everything about this one…but especially the marks of your pencil underneath. Just the right amount of texture next to the fluid watercolors.

  23. Wendy Shortland permalink
    March 3, 2009 9:39 am

    This is wonderful, loose and free. The blue of the shadows makes the reads and oranges of the fruit really pop!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

