Skip to content

Third Still Life

January 9, 2009

Another still life based on two objects.  I thought I’d have moved on to another medium by now, but I’m having fun working with pastels again. The composition didn’t quite work out, but that’s what experimentation is all about right?  I may start a group blog for still lifes, beginning with this project.  I’ll contact all of you who are also doing this project, but if you aren’t on board yet and are interested, please get in touch.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2009 9:31 am

    You are achieving such a gorgeous sparkle with the pastels, Casey it would be a shame to change now because you have a lovely series in this.

    I think the two object still life is a really difficult one in terms of composition. Maybe that is why it was set as a challenge.

    And yes, I’d love to be part of the still life blog.

  2. January 9, 2009 9:32 am

    I meant to say the first thing that struck me about this picture was how sweet it was that the pepper mill obviously adores the oil bottle. Or am I an incurable romantic?

  3. January 9, 2009 9:35 am

    Very nice! You are moving along with your still life work! Looking forward to more.

    I’ve been peeking at my pastels recently. They are in their wrappers and pristine. Been there for years. Hmmm ….

  4. January 9, 2009 12:59 pm

    So glad to see you’re getting energized again, dear buddy! Your light and texture are just gorgeous. Not that you asked for my advice (but when has that ever stopped me ;D), but I think a two-object still life is very difficult in that there are only so many spatial relationships that you can get with two objects. Three is a more dynamic number and easier to work with compositionally. What do you think?

  5. January 9, 2009 3:33 pm

    I would never think that you could get this kind of quality from pastels… Love your thoughts about experimentation. I need to remind myself of this more often.

  6. caseytoussaint permalink*
    January 9, 2009 3:37 pm

    Yes, three objects would definitely be easier, but the original challenge said two! I’m halfway there, and it’s a great learning experience.

  7. January 9, 2009 5:13 pm

    Beautiful colors and great subject. If I did more stills I would join you.

  8. January 9, 2009 6:51 pm

    Casey, I like these still life works of yours. The palette is interesting and somehow, the composition sparkles. I am getting sorely tempted to jump in and join you. I don’t know how it would fit with my kitty kitty series, but….I’ll just have to figure it out!

  9. January 9, 2009 9:08 pm

    I better get going on no. 3! This really is challenging but fun too! I like how your series is going; keep it in pastel. I think it has a cohesiveness going on.

  10. January 9, 2009 11:46 pm

    Nice green! You really captured the olive oil and its reflection. Good job. And the background light is positively holy.

  11. January 10, 2009 2:19 am

    Another beautiful pastel. The colors are amazing and the reflections perfect.

  12. January 10, 2009 3:06 pm

    Oh CASEY, that glass is just glorious…I love the play of color. You’re making my fingers itch for pastels!

  13. January 12, 2009 12:34 am

    Boy, these still lifes are just great, Casey. Beautifully done.

  14. January 12, 2009 11:13 am

    I am enjoying all your still lifes. Now, I was one of those that said they were keen to do this project as well… and haven’t had any time over my summer holidays (down here in Australia). Maybe I will start this week!

  15. January 13, 2009 4:20 am

    This one is really great! I love the way the pepper grinder is hiding behind the bottle, just peeking out. Great composition and beautiful light in the piece.

  16. January 13, 2009 7:47 am

    Ok I did my first one, interesting with two objects. I think I might do each one in a different medium, just a thought. Like this isn’t challenging enough! LOL

  17. January 17, 2009 3:02 am

    Besides talent you have such patience.
    This is beautiful!

  18. January 21, 2009 1:55 pm

    Yipee!!

  19. Wendy Shortland permalink
    March 3, 2009 9:46 am

    The tonal values just work perfectly.

  20. April 23, 2010 11:58 am

    wow! how I wish I could do that good in using pastels as my medium. I like your artwork ! its perfect! 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

