Skip to content

Back to Work

January 2, 2009

I’ve been very lazy and busy with family the last couple of weeks.  I’ve done almost no drawing.  I’m not really sure why, but it has just felt like I needed to take a break.  I never expected it to last this long though.

Here’s the second of my still life series.  I finished it a week or so ago, and wasn’t very happy with it,the ellipses are all wrong,  but I have no desire to re-do that glass, so I guess it’s finished.

So, now that the holidays are over, it’s time  for me to dig in and start working on this series again.  It’s awfully hard to rev up the machine again, especially with this horrible cold weather we’ve been having.  January is a good time for that though.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 4:41 pm

    Probably not what you want to hear…but it makes me feel better to read that you’ve “been lazy and busy” as of late. I feel the same way. I’ve managed to draw, but let a lot of other things slip.

    Glad to see you’re back and wishing you a great start to 2009.

  2. January 2, 2009 5:23 pm

    Breaks are allowed. Just don’t let the art police know. *lol*

    Ellipses can be difficult. I have considered doing drafting setups for them instead of eying them … one of these days.

    Love your still life!

  3. January 2, 2009 5:46 pm

    oh, very nice. I am excited that this semester in the intermediate drawing class they use pastels. I have used them a bit but I don’t think I work them correctly. Are you finding this as challenging as I am?

  4. January 2, 2009 7:17 pm

    January is the right time for cold weather but, honestly, I do not like to make artwork in a cold studio. I have to say that I was working up some pastels on some rather nice paper. I like pastels but I hate the mess. So good for you for tackling this project with pastels. I think it adds to the challenge.

  5. January 2, 2009 7:39 pm

    Happy New Year …

    I like what you’ve done here. December was really cold here. January is starting out about the same with some snow yesterday. Hard to warm up and feel like being creative.

  6. January 2, 2009 8:21 pm

    I just love the colors in here!

  7. annie permalink
    January 2, 2009 8:26 pm

    I’m amazed by anyone who can do pastels and colored pencils –so I dwell in perpetual amazement since so many online do stunning
    work.
    This is so lovely, Casey.
    annie

  8. January 2, 2009 9:12 pm

    January and all the year round! hope it will be a good year for you.

  9. January 3, 2009 12:04 am

    Hi Casey, I like your drawing; it seems so clear and clean. I like your painterly technique. I was wondering if I was seeing two points of view, ala Cezanne, in the ellipses of your glass. If I am, I like it! I find the ellipses a challenge; I always want to flatten them! Happy New Year and I look forward to watching your still life series.

  10. January 3, 2009 4:04 am

    I love what you’re doing with this series. This one has a very New Years sparkly feel to it. Happy New Year and thanks for all your kind comments and encouragement in 2008!

  11. January 3, 2009 8:37 am

    Great to see you back, Casey. Happy New Year! I think a break is good – particularly if you can do it with a clear conscience.

    Still haven’t attempted this two object challenge myself. I think two objects is difficult – an odd number always works better for me. Anyway I think your use of pastels is exciting and the colours beautiful. I certainly don’t look at this and think – there’s a problem with the ellipses. w
    When you line all six finished pictures up I bet you are going to have a very pleasant surprise.

  12. January 3, 2009 2:27 pm

    Your series are looking so good Casey. This is another beautiful one…that pepper mill especially!
    ronell

  13. January 3, 2009 4:32 pm

    I’m in, Casey!

  14. January 3, 2009 8:00 pm

    I love the series you’re doing. This one looks beautiful to me–I think it ought to be up on a wall. You could do a wall of paintings up a stairwell with each of the changing 2 items in them. Stunning! Happy New Year to you!

  15. quirkyartist permalink
    January 4, 2009 12:54 am

    You get such marvellous highlights with the pastels. I will watch this series with interest.

  16. January 4, 2009 4:50 pm

    Oh I love this series you and Marta are doing, I need to join in too. I just hate being left out. I also think its so hard to get back into it after a extended break, its like cranking the old car motor to get it started! To add to the difficulty I hate when things don’t turn out the way I want then too. I love your work, I am sure once you take a deep breath and start your next one things will naturally fall into place.

  17. January 5, 2009 8:54 pm

    Welcome back to the blog after your break. I think it does us all good to lay down the pen/brush for a short while – gives mroe time for thinking and planning. Loved the book in your first still life project. Wish I had joined you for this project as I love still life in all media but currently busy working on set of local river scenes for a new venue. Are you going to list those participarting or make a separate blog to post them in??? Assume the glass will be the next to go – wonder what you will add????

  18. sandy permalink
    January 6, 2009 7:48 pm

    WOW Your pastels have always inspired me – Hope your holidays were grand!!

  19. January 7, 2009 4:54 pm

    Happy New Year, Casey!

    I love the colours in the reflections of that glass. The elipses look fine to me.

    Looking forward to seeing what you’re going to team up with that pepper grinder. 🙂

  20. January 8, 2009 2:36 am

    I love the solidity of these forms and the clarity of your colors. Just beautiful.
    I wish we’d had a chance to draw together last week. I understand your need to take a break, though. It probably means you’re on the brink of a new path, with new energy.

  21. January 8, 2009 2:25 pm

    This is beautiful, Casey. I love the colors in the glass. Breaks are good. I think I am ready for one myself.

  22. January 11, 2009 2:45 am

    I love your pastels and this series, I need to get busy too!

  23. January 11, 2009 11:16 pm

    I love the shimmery quality of the background and the wine bottle is amazing: it looks hard like glass. I like composition, the peppermill so snuggly tucked up behind the bottle.

  24. January 12, 2009 2:27 am

    What a great idea. I’ll be visiting if you set up your still life site. This one just glows.

  25. Martin permalink
    January 22, 2009 5:52 pm

    Hi Casey! it’s an amazing job you have been doing with pastels. I love them all. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

