Skip to content

Join me in a challenge?

December 12, 2008

Lately, it seems that the only drawing I do is in my life drawing group.  I’ve even stopped carrying around a sketchbook.  So, in order to remotivate, I signed up for a project at wet canvas.  The project is to draw or paint  a series of still lifes (not from photos) with two objects in them.  So, the first painting with any two random objects, then one of those objects is replaced by another one in the next painting.  2 lemons, lemon and salt shaker, salt shaker and clock. And so on. I’ll post mine on wet canvas, but I don’t really know anyone over there.  If anyone out there could use some extra inspiration right now – let me know in a comment.  It’s always more fun to work together, no?

A couple of sketches from life drawing the past few weeks. Five minute poses.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2008 1:53 pm

    Ok, Casey. I’m in. I just happened to have joined Wet Canvas the other day. I taught my last drawing class on Wednesday and the next does not start up till early February. Sounds like fun and I’m in the same boat as you – have been remiss about drawing. Just tell me what to do – I’ve no idea how Wet Canvas works…. and Thanks for starting this up!

  2. Bill Sharp permalink
    December 12, 2008 3:17 pm

    I’m enjoying your figure drawings. Great line work.

    Good luck with your new project. I hope you’ll post some here.

  3. December 12, 2008 4:02 pm

    Love your life drawings, Casey–wish I had the problem of drawing from life too much (there aren’t any life drawing groups near me!). I made a halfhearted attempt at this challenge a few months ago … but I’ll re-up. Winter is a great time for still lifes.

  4. December 12, 2008 6:32 pm

    Some lovely work.
    Right up my street.
    I shall be looking again.
    Regards
    Trevor

  5. December 12, 2008 8:01 pm

    Sounds like a great project – I am interested!

  6. December 12, 2008 8:27 pm

    Okay, Casey. I need a drawing challenge like that. I’ll give it a go. I’ll run over to Wet Canvas and check it out. Meanwhile, I’ll post results on my flickr. Also, I’ve been an admirer of your work for some time now….

  7. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    December 12, 2008 9:36 pm

    Oh Lolo you are so far ahead of me in sketching etc, I couldn’t keep up. I have to stare at something, or someone, for at least 5 minutes before I even put pencil to paper. UGH… I will look forward to seeing all that you do. It will be great inspiration for me.

  8. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    December 12, 2008 9:38 pm

    OOps, Casey, I thought I was reading Studio Lolo’s blog. Errrrr sorry about that. What I wrote is still true. You are leap and bounds better than I am at drawing. I am still a neophyte scribbling away.

  9. December 12, 2008 11:14 pm

    Wow! I like your graceful, fluid line! I’m thinking about the “Wet Canvas” project. I enjoy working on still life drawings.

  10. December 13, 2008 4:04 am

    Such vibrant, beautiful colors in that second painting!

  11. December 13, 2008 9:31 am

    As soon as I sort out my little reduction printing challenge this morning, I’ll be back to join in, Casey. On which forum on WetCanvas are you posting?

    As usual you’ve made gorgeous watercolour studies out of these 5 minute poses.

  12. caseytoussaint permalink*
    December 13, 2008 8:50 pm

    Thank you for joining me on this, or for just stopping by and leaving encouraging words..
    Here’s the link to the project, which is called ‘Still Life Duos’
    http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/Projects/index.php?cmd=view_details&proj_id=1196

    If you want to look around at their art projects; first you go to content areas on the top bar, then art project system, and then you either browse or go to my projects on the side bar if you’ve already signed up for one or more. Once you’re signed up, you just upload your work, either to the studio – if you want to show unfinished work, or the gallery when they’re finished.
    We’ll have to cross-link to our work somehow or post it all together somewhere – maybe make a slideshow?

  13. December 13, 2008 10:59 pm

    I signed up! We get to pick our 2 objects, correct?

  14. December 14, 2008 11:32 am

    I just might try it…we’ll see.

  15. December 14, 2008 8:13 pm

    These are wonderful, confident figure studies. Hey, you better bring your sketchbook to Paris! We’ve got a blue Eiffel Tower to sketch!

  16. December 15, 2008 4:51 pm

    Hi Casey, I enjoy your life drawings so much that I’m “tagging” you. Please see my 15 Dec 08 posting. I’m adding you to my blogroll. This is a wonderful, elegant blog.

  17. December 15, 2008 5:05 pm

    Great sketches. Quick life drawings are always my favorites. Love the challenge idea-I’m going to try to join in after the 1st of the year.

  18. December 15, 2008 9:55 pm

    Great sketches from your life drawing session. I like the idea of the still life sketches. I’ll go over to Wet Canvas and see what I need to do. You need to get back to carrying your sketchbook with you.

  19. December 16, 2008 3:06 am

    A group of us are just finishing up a project through which we each attempted to do a still-life a day for the duration of the Giorgio Morandi Exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. I posted our drawings on Picasa. Have a look. I’ll pass your challenge on.

  20. December 16, 2008 12:24 pm

    Great life drawing sketches. I love your use of color! The Wet Canvas challenge sounds interesting and fun. I am going to check it out now.

  21. December 17, 2008 4:41 pm

    I love the notion of the two object still lifes. If I was good at it, I’d join in, but I hesitate. I’ll watch and cheer on the sidelines, though! I love your first entry.

  22. December 17, 2008 4:41 pm

    Oh, and I never even mentioned how beautiful these figures are. All gems!

  23. December 18, 2008 3:14 pm

    Your figure studies are always beautiful Casdey..I don’t have original vocabulary more to describe them! good luck with the challenge!\ronell

  24. December 30, 2008 7:42 am

    I really admire your figure studies. They’re so much more than just figure drawing exercises! I like the idea of the duo challenge. It seems like a good way to also focus on compositions, since it’s harder to compose with just two objects.

  25. January 1, 2009 2:28 am

    The colour adds even more life and personality to the drawings. Fabulous.

  26. January 7, 2009 4:31 pm

    Hi Casey, Lovely figure sketches!
    I’m a little late in finding your still life project but I think I’ll give it a go. (I’ve never posted on WetCanvas so I’ll need time to figure that out.) Thanks for finding it and sharing it!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

