Skip to content

Finished Album

December 8, 2008

A couple of weeks ago I posted an illustration I had done for a hand made wine album, which was being made as a gift for some local viticulteurs.  It was finished this weekend, and my friend Dominique really did an exceptional job on it.  I only had time to stop by briefly and take a quick photo, but I wish you could see how gorgeous it is.  Dominique pays attention to every small detail when she makes a book.  I hope the new owners will use it and enjoy it.

Here are my terrible photos, but they give you an idea.

The cover has been waxed to give it that shine – and the title was printed directly onto the cover paper with an ordinary inkjet printer.

image052image053

I’m really pleased that my humble drawing is part of such a beautiful object.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    December 8, 2008 1:20 pm

    This turned out beautifully. I am sure whoever receives this gift will treasure it.

  2. December 8, 2008 2:04 pm

    It IS fabulous and you can be so proud of it!!

  3. December 8, 2008 4:47 pm

    Beautiful!!! It looks exactly right, both on the book and as a wine label. What a wonderful gift!

  4. December 9, 2008 12:23 am

    It’s great to see your chickens on the cover! They look fabulous! Congrats and thanks for the pictures.

    Did they wax directly over your watercolor, too? If so, how does that look? And, if so, do you have any experience with other watercolors that have been treated so? You can respond if you like by emailing me directly – there’s a link in my sidebar. I’m looking for alternate options to glass.

  5. annie permalink
    December 9, 2008 12:33 am

    Stunning work, Casey. You can all be proud of that. I am also wondering how they waxed over a watercolor on the cover.
    annie

  6. December 9, 2008 11:27 am

    It looks great, nice to see the end result!
    Ronell

  7. December 9, 2008 4:28 pm

    I have to agree, this is beautiful. And your blog looks lovely, too.

  8. December 9, 2008 6:52 pm

    How beautiful! I love that, Casey! And I love your new “look” on your blog–so light and elegant and dare I say “French!?”

  9. sandy permalink
    December 9, 2008 8:31 pm

    Oh Yes Casey, it is Lovely!! and I love your light breezy new header!

  10. December 10, 2008 9:28 am

    Well, isn’t that a feather in your cap 🙂 Congratulations – it looks wonderful.

  11. December 10, 2008 12:41 pm

    I always arrive at your posts late, Casey but it is always worth waiting for! Congratulations, it’s a unique, beautiful and obviously appropriate cover. The owners must be thrilled. Did you say it’s going to be a wine label as well?

    I’d really love to be able to subscribe to your blog via email!!!!

  12. caseytoussaint permalink*
    December 10, 2008 12:45 pm

    Thanks everyone. For suzanne and Annie – in fact, we didn’t use the original watercolor, but a printout of the jpeg, so that it could be formatted perfectly to the books cover’s size and shape, and we could tweak the colors a bit to go with various papers that Dominique was considering. I think in this sort of project, a printed image often blends in better – although they can be a bit tricky to glue.
    I imagine that a watercolor could be waxed, but I’d want to do a trial first, on whatever pigments and paper I was using.
    Thanks for the comments on the new look too – I was feeling a need for fresh air, with the gloomy French winter upon us.

  13. December 11, 2008 12:42 am

    Your blogs new look is so light and refreshing! I love your book cover illustration too!!! how exciting–sounds like a fun project.

  14. December 11, 2008 8:55 pm

    Oh, Casey, it’s beautiful! BTW I love you new blog look. What a great banner!

  15. December 12, 2008 12:27 pm

    This is just beautiful and I love the waxed cover. This makes it really safe around wine, water and other miracles.

  16. January 17, 2009 2:26 am

    beautiful

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

