Skip to content

Life Drawing

November 18, 2008

What isit about life drawing?  It seems that it’s sooooo hard sometimes, and other times it just flows.  Last Wednesday was one of those wonderful sessions where the model was just wonderful, and the whole group was concentrated and relaxed. I think it’s a group phenomena as well.  Generally, when things go horribly wrong for me, I hear others grumblin on the way out too.

I’ve decided that since the poses are short I’ll try to limit the size of my format, so I only brought an 11 x 14″ sketchbook.  I had planned to work in watercolor, but once I’d filled my water containers I noticed that I’d left my paints at home!  So these are all done with water-soluble pencils, which are always in my pencil case.

As tends to happen with me, I don’t feel that the last ones are ever the best, depite the time being slightly longer, and the fact that I should be warmed up by then.  Could it be the glass of wine at break time?

Here’s everything I did, in order.  Poses start very short, in theory one minute, and move up to five – maybe 10 at the end of the session.  I’m never really sure.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2008 3:10 pm

    Gee, you got so much out of this session. Great.

  2. November 18, 2008 10:49 pm

    Your life drawings are the only ones that make me seriously consider what I am missing. They are WONDERFUL!!!

  3. November 20, 2008 7:29 am

    Fabulous figure drawing, esp love the ones with COLOR!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

